This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

Inheritance Tax Manual

Transfers on death: categories of qualifying property

The six categories are:

  • land (IHTM30213)
  • businesses (IHTM30214)
  • shares: control holdings (IHTM30217)
  • unquoted shares: undue hardship (IHTM30218)
  • unquoted shares: 20% tax test (IHTM30219)
  • unquoted shares: £20,000 value and 10% nominal value test (IHTM30220).

The following pages provide detailed instructions on their treatment.