This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

Denatured Alcohol: main contents

The Denatured Alcohol System: What are denatured alcohols?

There are three different classes of denatured alcohol:

  • Completely Denatured Alcohol (CDA);
  • Industrial Denatured Alcohol (IDA); and
  • Trade Specific Denatured Alcohol (TSDA)

Information on the three classes of denatured alcohol and their formulations is set out in section 2 of Notice 473 . The legal basis for these classes and formulations is as follows:

Class of denatured alcohol Relevant Law (all references to the Denatured Alcohol Regulations 2005 unless otherwise specified)
CDA * Regulation 4(2)
* Regulation 5  
IDA * Regulation 4(3)
* Regulation 6  
TSDA * Regulation 4(5)
* Regulation 7