beta This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

Compliance Handbook

Assessing Time Limits: The Time Limits: Which taxes do the new time limits apply to

The new time limits apply to

  • income tax
  • capital gains tax
  • corporation tax
  • VAT
  • insurance premium tax
  • aggregates levy
  • climate change levy, and
  • landfill tax
  • inheritance tax
  • stamp duty land tax
  • stamp duty reserve tax
  • petroleum revenue tax, and
  • excise duties.

‘Income tax’ includes tax accounted for under SA and PAYE. It also includes Class 4 NICs (which are assessed as if they were income tax) but it does not include Class 1 or 1A NICs.

‘Corporation tax’ includes any other amount assessable or chargeable as if it were corporation tax. For example, tax on loans to participators in a close company charged under CTA10/S455.