beta This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

Compliance Handbook

Assessing Time Limits: The Time Limits: Introduction

Schedule 39 Finance Act 2008 and Schedule 51 Finance Act 2009 set out the time limits in which HMRC can assess taxes, that is, how far back we can assess. CH51510 gives full details of when the changes take effect.

The new time limits apply to

  • income tax
  • capital gains tax
  • corporation tax
  • VAT
  • insurance premium tax
  • aggregates levy
  • climate change levy
  • landfill tax
  • inheritance tax
  • stamp duty land tax
  • stamp duty reserve tax
  • petroleum revenue tax, and
  • excise duty.

The new time limits do not affect

  • periods already out of date under the old time limits
  • the time limits for making enquiries into SA or CTSA returns
  • the time limits for making penalty determinations for direct taxes,
  • the time limits for assessing Class 1, 1A and 2 National Insurance Contributions, see COG915220, or
  • the 2-year rule and the evidence of facts rules for VAT, assessments, see CH51820 - CH51880, or for insurance premium tax, aggregates levy, climate change levy and landfill tax assessments, see CH51920 - CH51960.



VATA94/S73(6) & S75(2)

VATA94/S77 (2) & (2A)