This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

Child Benefit Technical Manual

Residence and Immigration: Immigration - People not subject to immigration control

{#IDASMNTI}People who are not subject to immigration control

You should normally accept that the following people are not subject to immigration control and that the general exclusion does not, therefore apply to them:

  • British passport holders and people with dual nationality, provided their passport is marked ‘British citizen’ or ‘holder is entitled to readmission to the UK’ or ‘holder has a right of abode in the UK’
  • Holders of another passport, which is marked ‘British Citizen’ or ‘given leave to enter the UK for an indefinite period’ or ‘given leave to enter or remain in the UK for an indefinite period’ or ‘there is at present no time limit on the holder’s stay in the UK’.
  • Nationals of any country which belongs to the European Economic Area (EEA), namely Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Bulgaria, Romania and the UK.
  • Nationals of Switzerland
  • People who have been granted refugee status (See CBTM10140 for more details about refugees).
  • people who have been granted humanitarian protection or discretionary leave to remain in the UK (on the asylum side, both categories replaced exceptional leave to remain in the UK in April 2003), including those granted temporary protection in the UK under EC rules governing displaced persons (Directive 2001/55/EC).