News article

CPA delegation arrives in Sri Lanka

This world location news article was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Six British Parliamentarians arrived in Sri Lanka on Sunday, 21 July, 2013 as part of a Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) delegation.

The cross-party group comprises four MPs and two Members of the House of Lords. They are Eleanor Laing MP (Conservative Party), Simon Danczuk MP (Labour Party), Jonathan Djanogly MP (Conservative Party),

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town (Labour Party), Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour Party) and Lord Sheikh (Conservative Party).

On Monday, 22 July, the delegation visited Colombo’s iconic Gangaramaya temple in Colombo 2 and paid a courtesy call on the Chief Priest of the temple, Galaboda Gnanissara Thero.