Transparency data

Appointments: higher education restructuring regime (HERR) advisory board

Published 30 October 2020

This transparency data was withdrawn on

This content is no longer current policy. The higher education restructuring regime (HERR) has now closed.

Applies to England

Board members

The Secretary of State for Education has appointed Sir Simon Burns as the HERR chair.

HERR board members appointed to provide educational expertise are:

  • Richard Atkins, currently Further Education Commissioner for England and member of the Council at the University of Exeter
  • John Cunningham, former finance director in a range of HE providers

HERR board members appointed to provide accountancy expertise are:

  • Amanda Blackhall O’Sullivan, partner at Ernst & Young
  • Colin Haig, president of R3, a restructuring and insolvency trade body

Other information

These appointments have been made on merit to provide relevant expertise to inform case-by-case restructuring decisions. The HERR board was appointed on 12 October 2020 for a fixed 2-year period.