Pre-registration advice notes for free schools, studio schools and university technical colleges 2015

At the request of the Secretary of State for Education, Ofsted conducts pre-registration inspections of proposed free schools, studio schools and university technical colleges.


Ofsted free school pre-registration advice notes

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


Ofsted inspects proposed free schools, studio schools and university technical colleges (UTCs) before their opening.

Following this type of inspection, Ofsted inspectors produce an advice note for the Secretary of State on the extent to which the proposed school is likely to meet the independent school standards at the time of opening.

This advice note informs the Secretary of State’s decision on whether a proposed free school, studio school or UTC should be registered. It is important to note that the decision is not made solely on the strength of the advice note but is also based on other information available to the Secretary of State.

The advice notes arising from the summer 2015 programme of pre-registration inspections are available in the document on this page and the table below lists the schools that have had letters published.

Schools a - p Schools q – z
Akaal Primary School Ramsgate Free School
ARK Byron Primary Academy Riverside Bridge School
Atrium Studio School Riverside Primary
British Sikh School, The Rugby Free Primary School
Channeling Positivity Sidney Stringer Primary Academy
Deer Park School South Devon University Technical College
Derby Manufacturing UTC South Wiltshire University Technical College
Digitech Studio School Space Studio
Drapers’ Maylands Primary School Temple Learning Academy
EBN Academy 2 The Belham Primary School
Eden Boys’ School, Birmingham The Edge Academy
Eden Boys’ School, Preston The Fermain Academy
Eden Girls’ School, Slough The Isambard Kingdom Brunel Studio School
Elliott Hudson College The Kingston Academy
Finham Park 2 The Langley Academy Primary
Floreat Brentford Primary School The Mendip School
Forest Bridge School The Ongar Academy
Grove House School The University of Birmingham School
Hackney New Primary School The University of Cambridge Primary School
Halley House Free School The WREN School
Harington School Turing House School
Harris Primary Academy Beckenham GEMS Twickenham Primary Academy
Health Futures UTC Unity Community Primary
Hoe Valley Free School UTC Bolton
Humber UTC UTC Oxfordshire
Hunsley Primary School UTC@Harbourside
Kilburn Grange School UTC@MediaCityUK
King Solomon International Business School Walthamstow Primary Academy
Kingston Community School Watling Park School
Maiden Erlegh School West Didsbury Church of England Primary School
Medway UTC West Midlands Construction UTC
Mendip Studio School, The Wolverhampton Vocational Training Centre
Perry Beeches V Wynyard Church of England Primary School
Plymouth Studio School  
Published 18 November 2015