Statutory guidance

Pelagic landing obligation 2018: Guidance

Which fish come under the landing obligation, what you have to do with them on board and which you can sell for human consumption.



The landing obligation, also called the discard ban, means that you have to land all the fish that you catch if they:

  • are pelagic quota species, including blue whiting, boarfish, herring, horse mackerel, mackerel, Norway pout, sandeel and sprat
  • include by-catch of quota species, such as cod and whiting
  • include any quota fish that are below the minimum size
Published 5 December 2017
Last updated 7 December 2017 + show all updates
  1. Text updated
  2. First published.