FOI release

Ofsted free schools pre-registration advice notes: 2013

Ofsted pre-registration advice notes for free schools that opened in 2013.


Abacus Belsize Primary School

Alma Primary School

Anand Primary School

ARK John Keats Academy

Bradford Girls Grammar School

Buckinghamshire UTC

Cambourne Village College

Cathedral Primary School

Central Bedfordshire Free School

Chichester Free School

Churchill Special Free School

City of Peterborough Academy

Collective Spirit

Compass School Southwark

Connell Sixth Form College

ContinU Plus Academy

Da Vinci Studio School

Darwen Aldridge Enterprise School

Devon Studio School

Durham Free School

East London Science School

Gildredge House

Goole Create Studio School

Hackney New School

Hadlow Rural Community School

Harris Aspire Academy

Hatcham Temple Grove Free School

Heron Hall Academy

Hewens Primary School

Heyford Park Free School

Hope Community School

Judith Kerr Primary School

Khalsa Science Academy

Khalsa Secondary School

Kimberley 16-19 STEM College

Kings School

Leeds Jewish Free School

Liverpool Life Sciences UTC

Longsight Community Primary

Marchbank Free School

Marine Academy Primary School

Midland Studio College Nuneaton

Mosaic Jewish Primary School

Nanaksar Primary School

New Islington Free School

Nishkam School West London

Oasis Academy South Bank

One in a Million Free School

Parkfield School

Perry Beeches III

Pimlico Primary School

Plymouth School of Creative Arts


Riverbank Primary School

Riverside Free School

Robert Owen Vocational School

Route 39 Free School

Rutherford House School

Rye Studio School

Sheffield UTC

Silverstone UTC

Sir Isaac Newton Sixth Form

Sir Thomas Freemantle Free School

Southampton Studio School

Southend YMCA Community School

St Martin's Free School

Steiner Academy Exeter

STEM Sixth Form Academy

Stockport Technical School

Stoke Studio College

The Acorn Free School

The Archer Academy

The Boulevard Academy

The Elstree UTC

The Heights Free School

The Jubilee Academy

The Maltings College

The Olive School Blackburn

The Olive School Hackney

The Olive Tree Primary School

The Reach Free School

The Royal Greenwich UTC

The Studio Liverpool

The Swanage School

The Thames Valley Free School

The Wells Free School

Thetford AP Free School

Thomson House School

Tooting Primary School

Trinity School

Tyndale Community School

University Cathedral

UTC Daventry

UTC Plymouth

UTC Reading

Visions Learning Trust UTC

Walsall Studio School

Waverley Studio College

West Newcastle Academy

Wigan UTC

William Perkin C of E High School

Wye Free School


  • date requested: 25 October 2013
  • date responded: 18 November 2013
  • date published: 20 February 2014


The pre-registration inspection reports for all free schools open by 25 October 2013.


Under the Education and Skills Act 2008, an Ofsted pre-registration inspection is required to inform the Secretary of State’s decision whether to register an institution as an independent school.

Following the pre-registration inspection, the Ofsted inspector produces an advice note for the Department for Education (DfE). Following a freedom of information request, DfE is publishing the Ofsted advice notes for the free schools that opened in 2013.

This release includes all the pre-registration advice notes for all free schools, university technical colleges and studio schools that opened in 2013.

The pre-registration advice notes for free schools that opened in 2011 and 2012 had already been released and published at the time this freedom of information request was made.

No new school is allowed to open unless it is completely ready to provide a high-quality education, in a safe environment. DfE made sure that any conditions were met by the schools before they opened in September.

Published 20 February 2014