This survey details the results of a survey completed by the RAF Noise and Vibration Division (NVD) between 1 February 2011 to 31 January 2012 of flying operations at RAF Leuchars prior to the announcement of the closure of the base as an active flying station, although the runway will remain available as a relief landing field.
As RAF Leuchars is now closed as an active flying station (although as stated above the runway will remain as a relief landing field), this report is published for historic purposes.
About RAF Leuchars
Leuchars’ association with aviation can be traced back to 1911 when military balloons were operated at the site. Its long history includes being used as a RNAS Fleet Fighter Station, and later as a Coastal Command airfield. After the World War 2, Leuchars became a Fighter Command Station. The base has in the past operated the Tornado F3 plus an Operational Conversion Unit, and until closure of the as an active flying stations was home to 2 Typhoon squadrons (Typhoons relocated to RAF Lossiemouth). RAF Leuchars is the Headquarters to The Air Training Corps (Dundee and Central Scotland), No 612 Squadron RAuxAF, and home to 71 Engineer Regiment. The East Scotland University Air Squadron and Number 12 Air Experience Flight continue operating Tutor Mk1s.
In 2015 the army will take over RAF Leuchars and the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards will move in along with a REME Battalion and a Provost Company.
For information on the previous scheme visit: Noise Insulation Grant Scheme (NIGS) on the UK Government Web Archive.