DVSA earned recognition: guide to the scheme

A guide to the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) earned recognition scheme.

Applies to England, Scotland and Wales


DVSA earned recognition: scheme guide

This file is in an OpenDocument format

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.

Request an accessible format.
If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


This guide explains everything you need to know about the DVSA earned recognition scheme, including how to become:

  • an accredited operator
  • an authorised audit provider
  • a validated systems supplier
Published 24 April 2018
Last updated 23 June 2022 + show all updates
  1. Section 1.3 Overview of attaining DVSA earned recognition standard - operators must make improvements if they only part meet or do not meet the standards. Section 3.1 HGV and PSV standards documents - updated sections in list of standards. Section 5 Initial audit - audit providers can no longer use their own audit standards. Section 5.1 Audit outcome - added ‘Standards part met’ section. Section 6.3 Audit outcome - added ‘Standards part met’ section. Section 10.2.1 AAP application review - removed information about checking auditor standards align with DVSA earned recognition standards.

  2. Updated to the latest version of the scheme guide.

  3. Added information about the extra modules that are available.

  4. Added an updated version of the guide. The advice that 'applications will be processed in batches quarterly' has been removed as this is no longer the case.

  5. First published.