Dadabhai Naoroji Awards: nomination form

Details of the Dadabhai Naoroji Awards, which recognise people who have furthered UK-India relations, and how to make a nomination.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Dadabhai Naoroji Awards – nomination form

This file is in an OpenDocument format


On 26 August 2014 the Deputy Prime Minister launched the Dadabhai Naoroji Awards. These 3 new annual awards celebrate the work of individuals who have furthered UK–India relations either in:

  • culture
  • commerce
  • education

Nick Clegg presented the 2014 awards at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office’s Indian Diaspora reception on 17 October 2014. Our congratulations go to the Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt, Madhav Sharma and Dame Asha Khemka for winning in the fields of commerce, culture and education respectively.

Nominations for 2015 awards

The nominations window for the 2015 awards will open next year. We will publish information on dates for nominations, the eligibility criteria and the nomination process at a later date.

Dadabhai Naoroji

The new awards are dedicated to Dadabhai Naoroji, the first Asian Member of the UK Parliament and the man who brought the first Indian business to the UK. The fact that the awards are in his name pays tribute to his commitment to the Indian people and his key role in historical events.

Published 1 September 2014
Last updated 17 October 2014 + show all updates
  1. Added link to 2014 award winners.
  2. First published.