Apprenticeship standard: operational firefighter

Describes the job role that an apprentice will be doing and the skills required of them by the protective services sector.


Apprenticeship standard for an operational firefighter

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


This document is relevant to:

  • employers wanting to recruit an apprentice
  • training organisations working with employers to make the apprenticeships available

The approved standard outlines the skills, knowledge and behaviours required of the apprentice and the job they will need to be able to do by the time they have completed their apprenticeship.

This standard is not yet ready to use.

An apprenticeship standard is only available for delivery when both the standard and assessment plan is approved and a funding band (core government contribution) has been assigned to the standard.

Under our reforms, employer-designed standards will replace frameworks over the course of this parliament.

Employers involved in creating this standard

If you’d like to get involved and contribute to the development of the operational firefighter standard, please read the guidance for trailblazers, and email the trailblazer contact:

The standard for an operational firefighter was developed by:

  • Bedfordshire FRS
  • Buckinghamshire FRS
  • Cheshire FRS
  • Civil Aviation Authority
  • Cornwall Fire Rescue Community Safety Service
  • County Durham and Darlington FRS
  • Devon & Somerset FRS
  • Dorset & Wilts FRS
  • East Sussex FRS
  • Fire Brigade Union
  • Fire Officers Association
  • Gloucestershire FRS
  • Greater Manchester FRS
  • Hampshire FRS
  • Hertfordshire FRS
  • Institution of Fire Engineers
  • Kent FRS
  • London Fire Brigade
  • Merseyside FRS
  • Mines Rescue Service
  • National Operational Guidance Programme
  • Nottinghamshire FRS
  • Oxfordshire FRS
  • QinetiQ
  • RAF Accreditation Centre
  • Sellafield
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk FRS
  • West Midlands FRS