Zero Emission Bus Regional Areas (ZEBRA) scheme

Information for local transport authorities in England, outside London, on the ZEBRA scheme.

This publication was withdrawn on

The ZEBRA scheme is not open for funding applications. See a list of funding allocated under the ZEBRA scheme.

Applies to England


Zero emission bus regional areas scheme 2021 to 2022 (Phase 2): business case development guidance

Request an accessible format.
If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


The October 2021 Spending Review announced that a further £150 million would be available to support the ZEBRA scheme, taking the total funding available for the scheme to £270 million in the financial year 2021 to 2022, from the initial allocated £120 million.

This funding is to help local transport authorities (LTAs), outside London, to introduce zero-emission buses and the infrastructure needed to support them.

Fast track

On 27 October 2021, it was announced that funding worth almost £71 million was awarded to the first 5 LTAs selected under the fast-track process. This funding will support up to 335 zero emission buses in:

  • Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority
  • Kent County Council
  • Leicester City Council
  • Milton Keynes Borough Council
  • Warrington Borough Council 

Standard track

On 26 March 2022, it was announced that funding worth £198 million to support up to 943 zero emission buses was awarded to 12 LTAs selected under the standard process. They are:

  • Blackpool Council
  • City of York Council
  • Hertfordshire County Council
  • Norfolk County Council
  • North Yorkshire County Council
  • Nottingham City Council
  • Oxfordshire County Council
  • Portsmouth City Council & Hampshire County Council
  • South Yorkshire Mayoral Combined Authority
  • Greater Manchester Combined Authority
  • West Midlands Combined Authority
  • West Yorkshire Combined Authority

Updates to this page

Published 30 March 2021
Last updated 26 March 2022 + show all updates
  1. Funding worth £198 million will be awarded to the 12 areas that have successfully completed the ZEBRA standard track process.

  2. Funding worth £71 million to be awarded to the first 5 areas that have successfully completed the ZEBRA fast track process.

  3. A further 17 local transport authorities will progress to phase 2 of the ZEBRA scheme.

  4. Applications for the ZEBRA scheme are no longer being accepted. Six shortlisted local authorities have been selected under the fast track process to progress to Phase 2 of the competition.

  5. The application deadline has been extended until 2 July 2021 and phase 2 business case guidance released.

  6. Error correction: proforma updated to clarify the consideration of VAT.

  7. First published.

Sign up for emails or print this page