Adoption: national minimum standards

Departmental advice containing the national minimum standards applicable to adoption agencies and adoption support agencies.

Applies to England


Adoption: national minimum standards


This departmental advice is for local authorities.

It contains the national minimum standards for adoption issued by the Secretary of State under sections 23 and 49 of the Care Standards Act 2000.

The standards are designed to be applicable to the variety of different types of adoption agencies and adoption support agencies. They aim to enable, rather than prevent, individual agencies to create their own particular approach based on evidence that this is the most appropriate way to meet the child’s needs.

Published 8 March 2011
Last updated 25 July 2014 + show all updates
  1. Updated standards document.

  2. First published.