Members of the Youth Justice Board for England and Wales (YJB), how they are appointed and board meeting minutes.

The board has corporate responsibility for ensuring that the YJB fulfils its strategic objectives, which are agreed with the Secretary of State for Justice, and for ensuring the efficient and effective use of staff and other resources.

The chair and board members are appointed by the Secretary of State for Justice.

Board members

Our board members bring in experience and knowledge of areas including:

  • local councils
  • voluntary sector
  • youth justice and other youth services
  • policing
  • judiciary
  • education
  • health services

They are:

Rt. Hon. Lord McNally

Lord McNally was appointed chair of the YJB in December 2013 and took up post in March 2014. His previous roles include:

  • Minister of State for Justice and Deputy Leader of the House of Lords from 2010 to 2013
  • Liberal Democrat Leader in the House of Lords from 2004 to 2013

Dr Carol Homden CBE

Dr Homden was Commercial Director at the Prince’s Trust before becoming Chief Executive of Coram - the oldest Children’s charity in the UK – in 2007.

Christine Davies CBE

Christine Davies was the chief executive of the Centre for Excellence and Outcomes in Children and Young People’s Services and formerly the director of children’s services, Telford & Wrekin council.

David Banks

David Banks is a chartered accountant and senior manager with over 35 years experience in the private sector, specialising in the provision of criminal justice and security services nationally and internationally.

Dr Gillian Fairfield

Dr Fairfield is an experienced NHS chief executive, currently for Brighton and Sussex University Teaching Hospitals. She qualified as a doctor in 1981 and has had a long career in health.

John Wrangham MBE

John Wrangham is a deputy lord lieutenant of Mid Glamorgan and is a visiting tutor at Newport University.

Neil Rhodes

Neil Rhodes is chief constable of Lincolnshire Police, with a background in criminal justice reform and the rehabilitation of young prolific offenders.

Rob Butler

Rob Butler is a former television journalist, and serves as a magistrate in West London. He has been vice-chairman of the independent monitoring board of Feltham Young Offender Institution.

Seamus Oates

Seamus Oates is an experienced executive headteacher, with expertise in the field of alternative provision, and also a member of the Tri-Borough Youth Offending Team Management Board and a designated national leader of education.

Dr Tony Sewell

Tony is the CEO of Generating Genius, an organisation which uses science and engineering to steer black boys towards higher education. He was appointed by Boris Johnson to chair the Mayor’s Education Inquiry into London schools.

Board meeting minutes

The board meets regularly throughout the year.

Code of conduct for board members (PDF, 163KB, 7 pages)

YJB board register of interests (PDF, 264KB)

Executive Management Group

The YJB Executive Management Group (EMG) oversees delivery of the Corporate and Business Plan, reviews and monitors budgets, and identifies and manages risk.

Read the latest Annual Report and Accounts for more information on who they are and what they do.

Read the Framework document: Ministry of Justice and YJB (PDF, 187KB, 22 pages) . This document was drawn up by the Ministry of Justice with consultation with the YJB. It sets out the broad framework within which the YJB operates.

EMG register of interests (MS Word Document, 68.5KB)