Our governance

How the UK Hydrographic Office is directed and managed.

The UK Hydrographic Office’s (UKHO) Owner’s Council and the UKHO Board make sure that we carry out our work as efficiently as possible, meeting our legal and other obligations. They also help us to make the most of business investment and commercial opportunities.

Owner’s Council

The Owner’s Council is chaired by the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Defence and includes:

  • representatives from the UK government
  • a representative from the Maritime & Coastguard Agency (MCA)
  • a shipping adviser, representing commercial shipping

UKHO Board

The role of the UKHO Board is to:

  • challenge and support the executive committee
  • scrutinise the executive committee’s proposals and performance using best governance and risk assessment practice
  • endorse business investment possibilities


  • Adam Singer - Non-executive Chair
  • John Humphrey - Chief Executive
  • Rear Admiral Tim Lowe - National Hydrographer and Deputy Chief Executive
  • Peter Davis - Director of Corporate Services
  • Alison Henwood - Non-executive Director
  • Heather Tayler - MOD Non-executive Director
  • Captain Gary Hesling – Hydrographer of the Navy and Non-executive Director
  • Marion Leslie – Non-executive Director
  • Tom Loosemore - Non-executive Director

UKHO Executive Committee (ExCo)

The purpose of the ExCo is to:

  • support and advise the Chief Executive in his management of the business of the trading fund
  • discuss and decide on business decisions and review overall performance against corporate plan

The committee is chaired by the Chief Executive and includes the heads of our five internal divisions:

  • Data Acquisition
  • Technology
  • Operations
  • Customer
  • Corporate Services