Our governance

The Ofqual board is the legal authority responsible for the regulation of qualifications, examinations and assessments.

The board provides leadership and direction, setting our strategic aims, values and standards. Its work is governed by the Ofqual Governance Framework (PDF, 666 KB, 58 pages), first adopted on 1 April 2010 and last revised in November 2019.

Board members

Members of the board are:

  • Ian Bauckham CBE, Chair
  • Dr Jo Saxton, Chief Regulator
  • Dame Christine Ryan, former Chief Inspector and Chief Executive Officer of the Independent Schools Inspectorate
  • Frances Wadsworth CBE, Deputy FE Commissioner
  • Susan Barratt, former audit Partner at Deloitte
  • Matt Tee, Executive Director, Integration, at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Catherine McClellan, Deputy CEO (Assessment), Australian Council for Educational Research
  • Hardip Begol CBE, CEO, Woodard Academies Trust
  • Mark Farrar, former CEO of the Association of Accounting Technicians and previously CEO of the Construction Industry Training Board
  • Cindy Leslie, Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee on the Architects Registration Board, and Chair of Governors for Channing School, Highgate
  • Eileen Milner, former CEO of the Education Skills Funding Agency and previously COO of the Care Quality Commission
  • Chris Paterson, Director of Impact at the Education Endowment Foundation
  • Clare Pelham, Chief Executive of the Epilepsy Society, non-executive Governor of Birmingham City University, and Director of Buckinghamshire Local Enterprise Partnership


The executive directors are:

  • Catherine Large OBE, Executive Director, Vocational and Technical Qualifications
  • Cath Jadhav, Executive Director, Standards Research and Analysis
  • Kate Evans, Interim Executive Director, RCS
  • Daniel Gutteridge, General Counsel
  • Michael Hanton, Executive Director, Strategy

Standards advisory group

The standards advisory group is a committee of the Ofqual board. It reviews research and makes recommendations about how we can maintain standards of qualifications.

It is made up of members of our board and independent assessment specialists.

The independent members of this group are:

  • Professor Jo-Anne Baird, Director of the Department of Education, University of Oxford
  • Professor Robert Coe, independent consultant, formerly of School of Education, Durham University
  • Dr Tina Isaacs, Honorary Senior Lecturer in Educational Assessment, UCL Institute of Education
  • Professor Gordon Stobart, UCL Institute of Education
  • Professor Caroline Gipps, Emeritus Professor, former Vice Chancellor, University of Wolverhampton
  • Professor Rebecca Allen, independent consultant, formerly of UCL Institute of Education
  • Dr Mike Cresswell, Consultant in Assessment (formerly Chief Executive of AQA and Ofqual board member)
  • Tom Bramley, Director, Research Division, Cambridge Assessment
  • Norman Gealy, Consultant in Assessment, former Chair of the Assessment Committee of the ICAEW, former head of research at the City & Guilds of London Institute
  • Prue Huddleston, Professor Emeritus, Centre for Education Studies, University of Warwick
  • Isabel Sutcliffe, Independent Consultant and formerly Pearson’s International Standards and Quality Director
  • Daisy Christodoulou, Director of Education, No More Marking
  • William Pointer, Head of Standards and Awarding, AQA
  • Dr Catherine Close, Director, Psychometrics, Renaissance Learning Inc
  • Zhanxin Hao, DPhil Student in Educational Assessment, Oxford University Centre for Educational Assessment.

Board meetings

Previous board papers available at the national archives