Defence Council

The Defence Council is the senior departmental committee. It is chaired by the Secretary of State, and comprises the other ministers, the Permanent Under Secretary, the Chief of Defence Staff and senior service officers and senior officials who head the armed services and the department’s major corporate functions. It provides the formal legal basis for the conduct of defence in the UK through a range of powers vested in it by statute and Letters Patent.