Our governance

Defence Board

The Defence Board is the main MOD corporate board chaired by the Secretary of State and responsible for top level leadership and management across defence.

Defence Council

The Defence Council is the senior departmental committee, also chaired by the Secretary of State, which includes other ministers as well as senior officers and officials.

Defence Safety and Environment Authority (DSEA)

The DSEA is the authority that is responsible for the regulation of defence safety and environmental protection.

Defence Suppliers Forum

The Defence Suppliers Forum is the major conduit for MOD-industry relationships. It is chaired by Secretary of State for Defence and includes representatives from prime contractors, international companies and ‘small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).