IIAC meets quarterly and publishes the minutes of its meetings on GOV.UK. You can also read more about its members here.

Our members

Professor Keith Palmer, Chairman

Occupational Medicine, Medical Research Council, Southampton University

Reappointed 18 January 2014

Keith Corkan

Partner, Layton’s Solicitors National Employment Team

Appointed 1 May 2016

Professor Paul Cullinan

Occupational and Environmental Medicine, National Heart and Lung Institute

Reappointed 1 September 2014

Dr Sara De Matteis

Lecturer in Occupational Respiratory Disease, National Heart and Lung Institute

Appointed 1 December 2014

Paul Faupel

Former Head of Campus Health and Safety and Laboratory Facilities, Genome Research Limited

Reappointed 8 June 2015

Professor Sayeed Khan

Chief Medical Adviser, EEF, The Manufacturers’ Organisation

Appointed 1 May 2016

Karen Mitchell

Legal officer and Solicitor, Rail, Maritime and Transport Union

Appointed 1 December 2014

Professor Damien McElvenny

Principal Epidemiologist, Institute of Occupational Medicine and Director, Statistics and Health Limited

Reappointed 1 September 2014

Professor Neil Pearce

Epidemiology and Biostatistics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Appointed 1 October 2014

Hugh Robertson

Senior Policy Officer, Trades Union Congress

Appointed 8 April 2015

Douglas Russell

Health and Safety Officer, Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers

Appointed 1 December 2014

Professor Anthony Seaton CBE

Emeritus Professor of Environmental and Occupational Medicine, University of Aberdeen

Appointed 1 May 2016

Dr Karen Walker-Bone

Reader and Honorary Consultant, Occupational Rheumatology, Medical Research Council, Southampton University

Appointed 1 May 2016

Dr Andrew White

Head of Safety and Occupational Health, University of Southampton

Appointed 1 December 2014

Register of interests

Read the Register of members’ interests.

Recruitment of members

The Commissioner for Public Appointments regulates all appointments to IIAC. The appointments are made in accordance with the Governance Code for Public Appointments published by the government.

Vacancies are published on the Public Appointments website as a minimum.

Our meetings and minutes

IIAC meetings

October 2017: IIAC minutes (PDF, 118KB, 5 pages)

July 2017: IIAC minutes (PDF, 92.8KB, 3 pages)

April 2017: IIAC minutes (PDF, 116KB, 5 pages)

January 2017: IIAC minutes (PDF, 103KB, 5 pages)

October 2016: IIAC minutes (PDF, 126KB, 7 pages)

July 2016: IIAC minutes (PDF, 149KB, 6 pages)

April 2016: IIAC minutes (PDF, 157KB, 10 pages)

January 2016: IIAC minutes (PDF, 176KB, 12 pages)

IIAC Research Working Group (RWG) meetings

September 2017: RWG minutes (PDF, 112KB, 5 pages)

May 2017: RWG minutes (PDF, 107KB, 4 pages)

March 2017: RWG minutes (PDF, 110KB, 5 pages)

November 2016: RWG minutes (PDF, 103KB, 4 pages)

September 2016: RWG minutes (PDF, 101KB, 3 pages)

May 2016: RWG minutes (PDF, 125KB, 6 pages)

March 2016: Research Working Group minutes (PDF, 139KB, 8 pages)

Archived minutes

Read earlier meeting minutes on The National Archives website.

IIAC public meetings

IIAC also hold annual public meetings. Read the IIAC public meeting minutes.

Our secretariat

The council doesn’t have any staff of its own but DWP provides a small secretariat team.

  • Head of Secretariat: Stuart Whitney
  • Scientific Advisor: Ian Chetland
  • Administrative Secretary: Catherine Hegarty