Office access and opening times

Forestry Commission's Area Office, Administrative Hub, Plant Health Service and Tree Health Team contact details.

How to contact the Forestry Commission during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak

As our offices are closed, we are not currently able to answer phone calls or receive mail sent to us by post. To contact us, please use the email addresses provided on this page.

Who should I contact?

  • For information about visiting one of the nation’s 1,500 woods and forests, to find out about the way they are cared for, or to do business with Forestry England, contact Forestry England

  • To talk to us about the Forestry Commission’s scientific services in support of sustainable forestry, contact Forest Research

  • To find out about our grants, tree felling licences, regulations and managing private woods and forests, contact an Area Office or Administrative Hub

Administrative Hubs

Our Hubs deal with the administration of legacy grant schemes, Felling Licences and Countryside Stewardship Woodland Capital Grant 2015 claim applications. We have 2 hubs that cover England.

Bucks Horn Oak - this Hub generally covers the East of the country

Bullers Hill - this Hub generally covers the West of the country, and Dedications across the whole country

Bucks Horn Oak Administrative Hub

Bucks Horn Oak
Farnham
Surrey
GU10 4LS

Telephone: 0300 067 4420

adminhub.buckshornoak@forestrycommission.gov.uk

The Bucks Horn Oak Administrative Hub manages the English Woodland Grant Scheme (EWGS), Countryside Stewardship Woodland Capital Grant 2015 claim applications and Regulations in the following areas:

  • South East and London
  • East and East Midlands
  • Yorkshire and North East

It also manages the Farm Woodland Scheme (FWS) and Farm Woodland Premium Scheme (FWPS) in the following areas:

  • South East and London
  • East and East Midlands
  • North East

Bullers Hill Administrative Hub

Bullers Hill
Kennford
Exeter
EX6 7XR

Telephone: 0300 067 4960

adminhub.bullershill@forestrycommission.gov.uk

The Bullers Hill Administrative Hub manages the English Woodland Grant Scheme (EWGS), Countryside Stewardship Woodland Capital Grant 2015 claim applications and Regulations in the following areas:

  • South West
  • North West and West Midlands

It also manages the Farm Woodland Scheme (FWS) and Farm Woodland Premium Scheme (FWPS) in the following areas:

  • South West
  • North West and West Midlands
  • Yorkshire and Humberside

Area Offices

Your local Woodland Officer can assist you with expert advice about managing your woodland, the range of support available and the regulatory processes involved. If you know which area your woodland is in you can find your Woodland Officer in the list below - you can also find the area office that covers your woodland using our Area and Woodland Officer boundaries map (PDF, 4.89MB, 1 page) .

Yorkshire and North East

North West and West Midlands

East and East Midlands

South East and London

South West

Yorkshire and North East Area

Forestry Commission
Foss House, Kings Pool
1-2 Peasholme Green
York
YO1 7PX

Telephone: 0300 067 4900

yne@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Woodland officers’ contact details

Sarah Radcliffe - East Northumberland (east of the A68/A696 road), email: sarah.radcliffe@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Ian Everard - West Northumberland (west of the A68/A696), email: ian.everard@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Mark Outhwaite - Newcastle, North Tyneside, Gateshead and South Tyneside, Sunderland, Durham, Hartlepool, Darlington, Stockton on Tees, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, email: mark.outhwaite@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Jeremy Dick - North Yorkshire (Hambleton, Craven, Richmonshire), email: jeremy.dick@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Miles Drury - North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire, South Yorkshire, York, email: miles.drury@forestrycommission.gov.uk

James Shallcross - East Riding of Yorkshire, Hull, Scarborough, Ryedale, email: james.shallcross@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Joost van Schijndel - West Yorkshire, Selby and Harrogate, email: joost.vanschijndel@forestrycommission.gov.uk

North West and West Midlands Area

Ghyll Mount
Gillan Way
Penrith 40 Business Park
Penrith
Cumbria
CA11 9BP

Telephone: 0300 067 4190

nwwm@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Woodland Officer Contact details

Paul Clavey - North and East Cumbria, email: paul.clavey@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Peter Fox - West Cumbria, email: peter.fox@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Andy Bennett - South Lake District and North Lancashire, email: andy.bennett@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Chris McGloin - Greater Manchester, Cheshire East and South East Lancashire, email: chris.mcgloin@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Robert Burns - Cheshire West, Merseyside and West Lancashire, email: robert.burns@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Paul Webster - Warwickshire, Birmingham and Staffordshire (East of the M6), email: paul.webster@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Clive Jackson - Birmingham East of M5, Coventry, Warwick, email: clive.jackson@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Nick Smith - Herefordshire and the Clun Forest area of Shropshire, email: nick.smith@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Wayne Barnes - Worcestershire, email: wayne.barnes@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Adrian Beaumont - Shropshire (except the Clun Forest), Staffordshire (west of the M6), email: adrian.beaumont@forestrycommission.gov.uk

East and East Midlands Area

Forestry Commission
Santon Downham
Brandon
Suffolk
IP27 0TJ

Telephone: 0300 067 4574

eandem@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Woodland Officer Contact details

Trevor Wright - Essex (Colchester, Tendring), Suffolk (Ipswich, Suffolk Coastal, Waveney), email: trevor.wright@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Sid Cooper- Norfolk (Broadland, Great Yarmouth, North Norfolk, Norwich, South Norfolk) Norfolk and Suffolk Broads, Mid Suffolk, email: sid.cooper@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Alastair Stirling - Norfolk (Breckland, King’s Lynn and West Norfolk) Suffolk (Forest Heath, East Edmundsbury) Cambridgeshire (East Cambridge, Fenland, Peterborough), email: alastair.stirling@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Emma Brearley- Cambridgeshire (Cambridge, South Cambridge), Essex (Epping Forest, Harlow, Uttlesford), Hertfordshire (North Hertfordshire, Stevenage), email: emma.brearley@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Justin Hardy - Hertfordshire (Broxbourne, Dacorum, East Hertfordshire, Hertsmere, St Albans, Three Rivers, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield), email: justin.hardy@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Lindsey Allen - Essex (Basildon, Braintree, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Maldon, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock), email: lindsey.allen@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Charles Cuthbert - Leicestershire (Blaby, Charnwood, Harborough, Hinkley and Bosworth, Leicester, Melton, North West Leicestershire, Oadby and Wigston, Rutland), South Derbyshire, email: charles.cuthbert@forestrycommission.gov.uk

James Fearn - Nottinghamshire (Bassetlaw, Newark and Sherwood), Lincolnshire (Boston, East Lindsey, Lincoln, North Kesteven, South Holland, South Kesteven, West Lindsey), email: james.fearn@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Tristan Galletly - Derbyshire (Bolsover, Derby, Derbyshire Dales, Erewash, High Peak, North East Derbyshire), Nottinghamshire (Broxtowe, Gedling, Mansfield, Nottingham, Rushcliffe), Cheshire (East - only within the Peak district), Staffordshire (East - only within the National Forest, Litchfield - only within the National Forest, Staffordshire Morelands - only within the Peak District), Yorkshire (Kirklees - only within the Peak District, Sheffield - only within the Peak District), Lancashire (Oldham - only within the Peak District), The Peak District, email: tristan.galletly@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Andrew Dall’Oglio - Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Corby, Daventry, East Northamptonshire, Huntingdonshire, Kettering, Luton, Northampton, South Northamptonshire, Wellingborough, email: andrew.Dalloglio@forestrycommission.gov.uk

South East and London

Bucks Horn Oak
Farnham
Surrey
GU10 4LS

Telephone: 0300 067 4420

southeast.fce@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Woodland Officer contact details

Rod Morrison – Buckinghamshire (Milton Keynes, Aylesbury Vale, Wycombe, Chiltern, South Bucks), email: rod.morrison@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Sam Riley – Oxfordshire (Cherwell, West Oxfordshire, Oxford, Vale of White Horse, South Oxfordshire), email: sam.riley@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Libby Carlton – West Berkshire, Hampshire (Basingstoke & Deane, Test valley north, Winchester), email: libby.carlton@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Neil Lewis – Berkshire (Reading, Wokingham, Slough, Windsor & Maidenhead, Bracknell Forest), Hampshire (Hart, Rushmoor, East Hampshire north), Surrey (Spelthorne, Runnymede, Surrey Heath, Woking), email: neil.lewis@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Angus Clarke – Hampshire (New Forest, Test Valley south, Southampton, Eastleigh, Fareham, Gosport, Portsmouth, Havant, Winchester, East Hampshire south, Isle of Wight), email: angus.clarke@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Julian Williams – West Sussex (Chichester, Arun, Worthing, Adur, Horsham, Crawley), email: julian.williams@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Andy Glover – Surrey (Waverley, Guildford, Mole Valley, Reigate & Banstead, Tandridge, Elmbridge, Epsom & Ewell, Mole Valley), London (all), email: andy.glover@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Matthew Smith – West Sussex (Mid Sussex), East Sussex (Lewes, Brighton & Hove), Kent (Sevenoaks, Dartford, Gravesham, Medway, Tonbridge & Malling, Maidstone west, Tunbridge Wells, Swale north), email: matthew.smith@forestrycommission.gov.uk

John Stafford – East Sussex (Wealden, Eastbourne, Hastings, Rother), email: john.stafford@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Simon Ginnaw – Kent (Maidstone east, Swale south, Canterbury, Thanet, Dover, Ashford, Shepway), email: simon.ginnaw@forestrycommission.gov.uk

South West

Bullers Hill
Kennford
Exeter
EX6 7XR

Telephone: 0300 067 4960

southwest.fce@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Woodland Officer contact details

Garin Linnington - Cornwall, Plymouth, email: garin.linnington@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Sam Negus - Somerset (excluding Exmoor National Park), email: sam.negus@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Karl Forte - Exmoor National Park, East Devon, Eastern Mid Devon, email: karl.forte@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Sue Hallett - Devon (Torridge, Western Mid Devon, Northern West Devon, North Devon), email: sue.hallett@forestrycommission.gov.uk

James Mason - Devon (Torbay, Exeter City, Teignbridge, Southern West Devon, Dartmoor National Park, South Hams), email: james.mason@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Chris Gibbard - Dorset (West Dorset, Purbeck, Weymouth and Portland), email: chris.gibbard@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Mark Malins - Part Wiltshire, Swindon, Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire, email: mark.malins@forestrycommission.gov.uk

David Rowe - Gloucestershire, email: david.rowe@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Ian Briscoe - Dorset (East Dorset, North Dorset, Bournemouth, Poole, Christchurch), part Wiltshire, email: ian.briscoe@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Cross-Border Plant Health Service

The Cross-Border Plant Health Service inspects and regulates imports and exports into and out of Great Britain of timber, wood and wood products, including dunnage, packaging and firewood. It also regulates some inland movements of these materials.

Cross-Border Plant Health Service

Silvan House
231 Corstorphine Road
Edinburgh
EH12 7AT

Telephone: 0300 067 5155

Fax: 0131 316 4344

plant.health@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Operations Manager - Ian Brownlee, telephone: 0300 067 5034, mobile: 07831 159014, email: ian.brownlee@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Regional Manager (North) - Russ Collins, East Yorkshire, mobile: 07764 838836, email: russell.collins@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Regional Manager (South) - Nick Hazlitt, Hampshire, mobile: 07799 657417, email: nick.hazlitt@forestrycommission.gov.uk

View a map of the Regional Managers' management areas (PDF, 873KB, 1 page)

Plant Health inspectors’ contact details

Forestry Commission and Northern Ireland Forest Service inspectors are listed below by points of entry. The points of entry listed are only the main ones used for landing plant health-controlled items. See the full list of points of entry Points of entry full list (PDF, 157KB, 10 pages) for details of the others.

Inverness, Peterhead, Aberdeen or Montrose - Stephen O’Kane, telephone: 01343 543165, mobile: 07748 094968, email: stephen.o’kane@forestresearch.gov.uk

Grangemouth, Greenock, Inverkeithing, Leith, Methil, Perth, Dundee, Rosyth, and Edinburgh and Glasgow Airports - Speedy Pest Control, mobile: 07773 014517, email: saf@speedygroupservices.co.uk

Liverpool, Birkenhead, Garston, Bromborough, Tyne, Sunderland, Seaham, Hartlepool, Tees, Teesport, and Manchester Airport - John Reid, mobile: 07961 437264, fax: 0845 051 8607, email: fcphne@gmail.com

Hull, Goole, Immingham, Grimsby, New Holland, Barrowhaven, Flixborough, Gunness Wharf and Keadby - Paul Gibson, mobile: 07878 794279, email: t@vern.karoo.co.uk

North Thames (Tilbury, Mistely, Harwich, Creaksea (Baltic Wharf), Brightlingsea and Stansted Airport) - Adam O’Hanlon, fax: 0208 445 9438, mobile: 07938 502193, email: thamesforestry@gmail.com

South Thames (Thamesport, Sheerness, Rochester, Chatham, Ridham, Dover, London Gateway, and Gatwick Airport) - Adam O’Hanlon, fax: 0208 445 9438, mobile: 07938 502193, email: forestrynt@gmail.com

Cardiff, Barry, Port Talbot, Swansea, Neath, Newport, Bristol (Avonmouth), Sharpness, Pembroke and Portbury - Sid Martin, telephone/fax: 01792 863344, mobile: 07816 215066, email: sidjmartin@hotmail.com

Teignmouth, Plymouth, Par and Newquay - Chris Marrow, telephone: 01626 833981, mobile: 07816 123450, email: cj@chrismarrow.co.uk

Southampton, Poole, Shoreham, and London Heathrow Airport - Paul Radigan, Alistair Wilson, fax: 02380 775195, mobile: 07702 363541, email: forestry@cfs-uk.co.uk

Boston, Sutton Bridge, King’s Lynn and Wisbeach - Steve Hoyle, Keith Whitlock, fax: 01394 303344, mobile: 07813 216097, email: felixstoweteam@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Felixstowe and Ipswich - Steve Hoyle, Keith Whitlock, fax: 01394 303344, mobile: 07813 216097, email: felixstoweteam@forestrycommission.gov.uk

East Midlands Airport - Plant Health Service, telephone: 0300 067 5155, email: plant.health@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Northern Ireland (Belfast, Warrenpoint and Lisahally) – Plant Health Inspection Branch, Forest Service, Department of Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs (DAERA), Room 1019, Dundonald House, Upper Newtownards Road, Ballymiscaw, Belfast BT4 3SB; telephone: 02890 524 91870, email: planthealth@daera-ni.gov.uk

England Tree Health Team

The England Tree Health Team provides regulation, advisory, surveying, monitoring, promotion and reporting services in support of tree and woodland health in England.

England Tree Health Team

620 Bristol Business Park
Coldharbour Lane
Bristol
BS16 1EJ

Telephone: 0300 067 4321

tree_health_england@forestrycommission.gov.uk