Office access and opening times

Forestry Commission's Area Office and Administrative Hub contact details including address, telephone number and email address.

Who should I contact?

  • If you would like to contact the Forestry Commission about a visit to a public forest, the public forest estate or doing business with the Forestry Commission, contact Forest Enterprise

  • If you would like to contact the Forestry Commission about its scientific services in support of sustainable forestry, contact Forest Research

  • If you would like information about grants, tree felling licences, regulations and managing private woods and forests, contact an Area Office or Administrative Hub

Area Offices

Your local Woodland Officer can assist you with expert advice about managing your woodland, the range of support available and the regulatory processes involved.

Yorkshire and North East

North West and West Midlands

East and East Midlands

South East and London

South West

Yorkshire and North East Area

Forestry Commission
Foss House, Kings Pool
1-2 Peasholme Green
York
YO1 7PX

Telephone: 0300 067 4900

yorkshirenortheast@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Woodland officers’ contact details

Ian Everard - West Northumberland (west of the A68/A696 road), telephone: 0300 067 4993, mobile: 07766 998583, email: ian.everard@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Sarah Radcliffe - East Northumberland (east of the A68/A696 road), telephone: 0300 067 4192, mobile: 07584 770792, email: sarah.radcliffe@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Luke Hemmings - Newcastle, North Tyneside, Gateshead and South Tyneside, Sunderland, Durham, Hartlepool, Darlington, Stockton on Tees, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, telephone: 0300 067 5403, mobile: 07979 223 943, email: luke.hemmings@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Jeremy Dick - Yorkshire (Hambleton, Craven, Richmonshire), telephone: 0300 067 4916, mobile: 07771 806956, email: jeremy.dick@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Miles Drury - North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire, South Yorkshire, York, telephone: 0300 067 4913, mobile: 07827 239247, email: miles.drury@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

James Shallcross - East Riding of Yorkshire, Hull, Scarborough, Ryedale, telephone: 0300 067 5071, mobile: 07825 043 659, email: james.shallcross@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

North West and West Midlands Area

Ghyll Mount
Gillan Way
Penrith 40 Business Park
Penrith
Cumbria
CA11 9BP

Telephone: 0300 067 4190

nwwm@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Woodland Officer Contact details

Jim O’Neill - North and East Cumbria, telephone: 0300 067 4191, mobile: 07831 174639, email: jim.oneill@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Peter Fox - West Cumbria, telephone: 0300 067 4189, mobile: 07768 142942, email: peter.fox@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Andy Bennett - South Lake District and North Lancashire, telephone: 0300 067 4188, mobile: 07584 342727, email: andy.bennett@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Chris McGloin - Greater Manchester, South East Lancashire and Cheshire East, telephone: 0300 067 4087, mobile: 07464 539467, email: chris.mcgloin@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Robert Burns - Cheshire and Merseyside, telephone: 0300 067 4198, mobile: 07882 354 672, email: robert.burns@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Paul Webster - Warwickshire, Birmingham and Staffordshire (East of the M6), telephone: 0300 067 4245, mobile: 07786 111495, email: paul.webster@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Nick Smith - Mid and West Herefordshire and the Clun Forest area of Shropshire, telephone: 0300 067 6972, mobile: 07831 730676, email: nick.smith@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Wayne Barnes - East Herefordshire and Worcestershire, telephone: 0300 067 4250, mobile: 07833 154198, email: wayne.barnes@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Adrian Beaumont - Shropshire (except the Clun Forest), Staffordshire (West of the M6), telephone: 0300 067 6976, mobile: 07795 475862, email: adrian.beaumont@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

East and East Midlands Area

Forestry Commission
Santon Downham
Brandon
Suffolk
IP27 0TJ

Telephone: 0300 067 4574

eandem@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Woodland Officer Contact details

Trevor Wright - Essex (Colchester, Tendring), Suffolk (Ipswich, Suffolk Coastal, Waveney), telephone: 0300 067 4585, mobile: 07884 234728, email: trevor.wright@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Sid Cooper- Norfolk (Broadland, Great Yarmouth, North Norfolk, Norwich, South Norfolk) Norfolk and Suffolk Broads, Mid Suffolk, telephone: 0300 067 4573, mobile: 07826 914880, email: sid.cooper@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Alastair Stirling - Norfolk (Breckland, King’s Lynn and West Norfolk) Suffolk (Forest Heath, East Edmundsbury) Cambridgeshire (East Cambridge, Fenland, Peterborough), telephone: 0300 067 4562, mobile: 07748 336714, email: alastair.stirling@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Emma Brearley- Cambridgeshire (Cambridge, South Cambridge), Essex (Epping Forest, Harlow, Uttlesford), Hertfordshire (North Hertfordshire, Stevenage), telephone: 0300 067 4580, mobile: 07721 761473, email: emma.brearley@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Justin Hardy - Hertfordshire (Broxbourne, Dacorum, East Hertfordshire, Hertsmere, St Albans, Three Rivers, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield), telephone: 0300 067 4553, mobile: 07584 337754, email: justin.hardy@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Lindsey Allen - Essex (Basildon, Braintree, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Maldon, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock), telephone: 0300 067 4586, mobile: 07884 234726, email: lindsey.allen@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Charles Cuthbert - Leicestershire (Blaby, Charnwood, Harborough, Hinkley and Bosworth, Leicester, Melton, North West Leicestershire, Oadby and Wigston, Rutland), South Derbyshire, telephone: 0300 067 5354, mobile: 07771 667122, email: charles.cuthbert@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

James Fearn - Nottinghamshire (Bassetlaw, Newark and Sherwood), Lincolnshire (Boston, East Lindsey, Lincoln, North Kesteven, South Holland, South Kesteven, West Lindsey), telephone: 0300 067 6965, mobile: 07769 282840, email: james.fearn@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Richard Pearce - Bedfordshire (Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Luton), Northhamptonshire (Corby, Daventry, East Northamptonshire, Kettering, Northampton, South Northamptonshire, Wellingborough), Cambridgeshire (Huntingdonshire), telephone: 0300 067 4167, mobile: 07827 239259, email: richard.pearce@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Tristan Galletly - Derbyshire (Bolsover, Derby, Derbyshire Dales, Erewash, High Peak, North East Derbyshire), Nottinghamshire (Broxtowe, Gedling, Mansfield, Nottingham, Rushcliffe), Cheshire (East - only within the Peak district), Staffordshire (East - only within the National Forest, Litchfield - only within the National Forest, Staffordshire Morelands - only within the Peak District), Yorkshire (Kirklees - only within the Peak District, Sheffield - only within the Peak District), Lancashire (Oldham - only within the Peak District), The Peak District, telephone: mobile: 07765 220394, email: tristan.galletly@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

South East and London

Bucks Horn Oak
Farnham
Surrey
GU10 4LS

Telephone: 0300 067 4420

southeast.fce@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Woodland Officer Contact details

Sam Riley - Oxfordshire, telephone: 0300 067 4461, mobile: 07881 008181, email: sam.riley@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Rod Morrison - Buckinghamshire, Berkshire part (Slough, Windsor and Maidenhead, Reading, Wokingham, Bracknell Forest), telephone: 0300 067 4447, mobile: 07900 136880, email: rod.morrison@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Andy Brunt - West Berkshire, Hampshire part (Basingstoke and Dean, Test Valley north, Hart, Rushmoor), telephone: 0300 067 4426, mobile: 07785 316553, email: andy.brunt@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Andy Glover - East Hampshire, Greater London, Surrey (except Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Tandridge), telephone: 0300 067 4427, mobile: 07748 180662, email: andy.glover@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Julian Williams - Surrey part (Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Tandridge), West Sussex (Crawley, Mid Sussex), East Sussex (Brighton and Hove, Lewes), mobile: 07827 232533, email: julian.williams@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Dave Rogers - West Sussex (Chichester, Arun, Worthing, Horsham, Adur), telephone: 0300 067 4428, mobile: 07768 694263, email: dave.rogers@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

John Stafford - East Sussex (Wealden, Eastbourne, Rother, Hastings), telephone: 0300 067 4468, mobile: 07887 825120, email: john.stafford@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Libby Carlton - Kent (Dartford, Gravesham, Medway, Sevenoaks, telephone: 0300 067 4455, mobile: 07778 025149, email: libby.carlton@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

South West

Bullers Hill
Kennford
Exeter
EX6 7XR

Telephone: 0300 067 4960

southwest.fce@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Woodland Officer contact details

Garin Linnington - Cornwall, Plymouth, mobile: 07917 643373, email: garin.linnington@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Sam Negus - Somerset (excluding Exmoor National Park), telephone: 0300 067 5851, mobile: 07769 934759, email: sam.negus@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Chris Sorensen - Exmoor National Park, East Devon, Eastern Mid Devon, telephone: 0300 067 4094, mobile: 07917 643377, email: chris.sorensen@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Sue Hallett - Devon (Torridge, Western Mid Devon, Northern West Devon, North Devon), telephone: 0300 067 5856, mobile: 07787 744988, email: sue.hallett@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

James Mason - Devon (Torbay, Exeter City, Teignbridge, Southern West Devon, Dartmoor National Park, South Hams), telephone: 0300 067 5853, mobile: 07342 064401, email: james.mason@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Chris Gibbard - Dorset (West Dorset, Purbeck, Weymouth and Portland), telephone: 0300 067 5860, mobile: 07468 700672, email: chris.gibbard@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Mark Malins - Part Wiltshire, Swindon, Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire, telephone: 0300 067 5849, mobile: 07766 785943, email: mark.malins@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

David Rowe - Gloucestershire, telephone: 0300 067 5854, mobile: 07920 081555, email: david.rowe@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Gerard d’Erlanger - Dorset (East Dorset, North Dorset, Bournemouth, Poole, Christchurch), part Wiltshire, telephone: 0300 067 5834, mobile: 07919 001397, email: gerard.derlanger@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Administrative Hubs

Our Hubs deal with the administration of legacy grant schemes, Felling Licences and Countryside Stewardship Woodland Capital Grant 2015 claim applications. We have 2 hubs that cover England.

Bucks Horn Oak - this Hub generally covers the East of the country

Bullers Hill - this Hub generally covers the West of the country, and Dedications across the whole country

Bucks Horn Oak Administrative Hub

Bucks Horn Oak
Farnham
Surrey
GU10 4LS

Telephone: 0300 067 4420

adminhub.buckshornoak@forestrycommission.gov.uk

The Bucks Horn Oak Administrative Hub manages the English Woodland Grant Scheme (EWGS), Countryside Stewardship Woodland Capital Grant 2015 claim applications and Regulations in the following areas:

  • South East and London
  • East and East Midlands
  • Yorkshire and North East

It also manages the Farm Woodland Scheme (FWS) and Farm Woodland Premium Scheme (FWPS) in the following areas:

  • South East and London
  • East and East Midlands
  • North East

Bullers Hill Administrative Hub

Bullers Hill
Kennford
Exeter
EX6 7XR

Telephone: 0300 067 4960

adminhub.bullershill@forestrycommission.gov.uk

The Bullers Hill Administrative Hub manages the English Woodland Grant Scheme (EWGS), Countryside Stewardship Woodland Capital Grant 2015 claim applications and Regulations in the following areas:

  • South West
  • North West and West Midlands

It also manages the Farm Woodland Scheme (FWS) and Farm Woodland Premium Scheme (FWPS) in the following areas:

  • South West
  • North West and West Midlands
  • Yorkshire and Humberside

Cross-Border Plant Health Service

The Cross-Border Plant Health Service inspects and regulates imports and exports into and out of Great Britain of timber, wood and wood products, including dunnage, packaging and firewood. It also regulates some inland movements of these materials.

Cross-Border Plant Health Service

Silvan House
231 Corstorphine Road
Edinburgh
EH12 7AT

Telephone: 0300 067 5155

Fax: 0131 316 4344

plant.health@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Operations Manager - Ian Brownlee, telephone: 0300 067 5034, mobile: 07831 159014, email: ian.brownlee@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Regional Manager (North) - Ian Murgatroyd, Dumfries, telephone: 0300 067 6523, mobile: 07767 251379, email: ian.murgatroyd@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Regional Manager (South) - Nick Hazlitt, Hampshire, mobile: 07799 657417, email: nick.hazlitt@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Plant Health inspectors’ contact details

Forestry Commission and Northern Ireland Forest Service inspectors are listed below by points of entry. The points of entry listed are only the main ones used for landing plant health-controlled items. See the full list of points of entry Points of entry full list (PDF, 183KB, 10 pages) for details of the others.

Inverness, Peterhead, Aberdeen or Montrose - Stephen O’Kane, telephone: 01343 543165, mobile: 07748 094968, email: stephen.o’kane@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Grangemouth, Greenock, Inverkeithing, Leith, Methil, Perth, Dundee, Rosyth, and Edinburgh and Glasgow Airports - Speedy Pest Control, mobile: 07773 014517, email: saf@speedygroupservices.co.uk

Liverpool, Birkenhead, Garston, Bromborough, Tyne, Sunderland, Seaham, Hartlepool, Tees, Teesport and Manchester Airport - John Reid, mobile: 07961 437264, fax: 0845 051 8607, email: fcphne@gmail.com

Hull, Goole, Immingham, Grimsby, New Holland, Barrowhaven, Flixborough, Gunness Wharf and Keadby - Paul Gibson, mobile: 07878 794279, email: t@vern.karoo.co.uk

North Thames (Tilbury, Ipswich, Mistely, Harwich, Creaksea (Baltic Wharf), Brightlingsea and Stansted Airport) - Adam O’Hanlon, fax: 0208 445 9438, mobile: 07938 502193, email: thamesforestry@gmail.com

Felixstowe - Steve Hoyle, Keith Whitlock, fax: 01394 303344, mobile: 07813 216097, email: felixstoweteam@forestrycommission.gov.uk

Cardiff, Barry, Port Talbot, Swansea, Neath, Newport, Bristol (Avonmouth), Sharpness, Pembroke and Portbury - Sid Martin, telephone/fax: 01792 863344, mobile: 07816 215066, email: sidjmartin@hotmail.com

Teignmouth, Plymouth, Par, Newquay and Pembroke - Chris Marrow, telephone: 01626 833981, mobile: 07816 123450, email: cj@chrismarrow.co.uk

Southampton, Poole and London Heathrow and Gatwick Airports - Paul Radigan, Alistair Wilson, fax: 02380 775195, mobile: 07702 363541, email: forestry@cfs-uk.co.uk

South Thames (Thamesport, Sheerness, Rochester, Chatham, Ridham, Dover, Shoreham, London Gateway and Stansted Airport) - Adam O’Hanlon, fax: 0208 445 9438, mobile: 07938 502193, email: forestrynt@gmail.com

Boston, Sutton Bridge, King’s Lynn and Wisbeach - Steve Hoyle, Keith Whitlock, fax: 01394 303344, mobile: 07813 216097, email: felixstoweteam@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

East Midlands Airport - Plant Health Service, telephone: 0300 067 5155, email: plant.health@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Northern Ireland (Belfast, Warrenpoint and Lisahally) – Plant Health Inspection Branch, Forest Service, Department of Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs (DAERA), Room 1019, Dundonald House, Upper Newtownards Road, Ballymiscaw, Belfast BT4 3SB; telephone: 02890 524 91870, email: planthealth@daera-ni.gov.uk

England Tree Health Team

The England Tree Health Team provides regulation, advisory, surveying, monitoring, promotion and reporting services in support of tree and woodland health in England.

England Tree Health Team

620 Bristol Business Park
Coldharbour Lane
Bristol
BS16 1EJ

Telephone: 0300 067 4321

tree_health_england@forestry.gsi.gov.uk