About us

We are responsible for overseeing negotiations to leave the EU and establishing the future relationship between the UK and EU.

About us

DExEU is responsible for overseeing negotiations to leave the European Union and establishing the future relationship between the UK and EU.


Our objectives are to:

  1. lead the UK’s negotiations to leave the EU and establish a deep and special partnership between the EU and the UK;

  2. work with the devolved administrations, Parliament, EU Member States and Institutions and a wide range of other interested parties throughout the negotiations;

  3. lead and coordinate cross-government work to seize the opportunities and ensure a smooth process of exit, including the required domestic legislation, on the best possible terms;

  4. continue our work across Whitehall and in Brussels to coordinate European business, exercise our rights and meet our obligations as a member of the EU until we exit;

  5. attract and develop great people and organise ourselves flexibly to deliver our objectives efficiently and effectively.

Senior management team

The department’s senior management team includes:

  • Philip Rycroft, Permanent Secretary
  • Sir Tim Barrow KCMG LVO MBE, UK Permanent Representative to the EU
  • Sarah Healey, Director General
  • Alex Ellis, Director General
  • Susannah Storey, Director General
  • Tom Shinner, Director for Policy and Delivery Coordination
  • Joanna Key, Director for Legislation and Constitution
  • Matt Baugh, Director for Negotiation Coordination Unit
  • Nathan Phillips, Director for Planning and Analysis
  • Chris Hobley, Director for Market Access Sectors
  • Rhys Bowen, Director for International Agreements and Trade
  • Anna Clunes, Director for Institutions and Member States
  • James Roscoe, Director for Communications and Stakeholders
  • Chris Jones, Director for Justice, Security and Migration and Chief Scientific Adviser
  • Helen Mills, Director for Human Resources and Corporate Centre
  • Richard Ney, Director for Finance and Corporate Centre
  • Catherine Adams and Daniel Denman, DExEU Legal Advisors

View our senior team organogram

Corporate information

Access our information

Jobs and contracts

Read about the types of information we routinely publish in our Publication scheme.