Information about the Committee's members and meetings.


The Committee on Fuel Poverty (CFP) consists of a Chair and 5 members who are appointed for 3 years.

Appointments are made in accordance with the requirements of the Governance Code for Public Appointments.

David R. Blakemore (Chair)

David Blakemore has been a member of the Committee on Fuel Poverty since its inception in January 2016 and was appointed as Chair in November 2016. He has been reappointed as the Chair from 7 November 2019.

David has had a number of leading managerial and operational roles in multi-national oil companies in the UK and around the world. Until April 2015 he was Director of 13 oil and electricity generating companies in his role as Director and Manager for European Business Affairs at Phillips66 Ltd.

Appointed: 8 November 2016
Terms ends: 8 November 2019
Reappointed: 7 November 2019 (for a 2nd term)
Term ends: 5 November 2021

Jenny Saunders, CBE, DCL

Jenny Saunders has a number of current roles:

  • Chair of NGN’s Customer Engagement Group
  • Non-Executive Director of Affordable Warmth Solutions Community Interest Company
  • Member of Innovate UK’s Advisory Group for its Prospering from the Energy Revolution programme
  • Associate Fellow at Durham University
  • Member of the Northern Powergrid’s Customer Engagement Group

Jenny was Chief Executive of National Energy Action from 2007 until December 2017, and prior to that their Director of Communications. She was a member of the UKERC Advisory Board from 2014 until July 2019.

Appointed: 4 January 2016
Reappointed: 4 January 2019 (for a 2nd term)
Terms ends: 3 January 2022

Paul Massara

Paul Massara is a Chairman, Non-Executive Director and Board adviser to a number of companies in the energy technology space. He is also Chair of Sovereign Housing Association and Medicinema, a film charity. Prior to these roles, he was CEO of Npower from 2013-2015 and was also a member of Centrica Plc Executive Committee, and President of Direct Energy (Canada).

His other roles include:

  • Board Director Zeigo Energy
  • Board Director of Isize Technologies
  • Board Advisor to Utonomy
  • Chair of Sovereign Housing
  • Chair of Medicinema
  • Associate at Creative Destruction Lab, Oxford University
  • He is also an investor in Electron, Verv and Habitat Energy

Appointed: 4 January 2016 Reappointed: 3 January 2019 (for a 2nd term) Terms ends: 3 January 2022

Lawrence Slade

Lawrence Slade has been the Chief Executive of the Global Infrastructure Investor Association since January 2020. Before his current appointment, he was Chief Executive of Energy UK since July 2015, and prior to this was its Chief Operating Officer when it was formed in 2012 and had specific executive responsibility for all energy supply activities including retail markets, smart metering and grids, energy efficiency, fuel poverty and consumer engagement.

Lawrence has been involved in the energy industry since the late 1990’s, working in countries all over the world to build an understanding of the geopolitics of energy and both how the sector is central to everyday life and supports thriving economies.

Lawrence ran the Energy Retail Association before Energy UK was formed. He is also a non-executive director of the Money Advice Trust and a Fellow of the Energy Institute.

Appointed: 4 January 2016
Reappointed: 4 January 2019 (for a 2nd term)
Term extension: 4 September 2021

Liz Bisset

Liz Bisset is a housing and leadership coach and consultant. Until recently, she was Strategic Director for Cambridge City Council. Prior to that, her career spanned housing management services, new home development and community engagement, including posts as Director of Community Services for Cambridge and Head of Regeneration for Bristol City Council.

Liz is also a trustee and treasurer of Cambridge United Charities and Chair of Performance and Governance, and a Non-Executive Director, of Cross Keys Homes.

Appointed: 1 December 2017
Term extension: 30 August 2021

Anuradha Singh

Anu is a board level local government and health professional. She has been a statutory Director of Social Services; and is passionate about service improvement and community empowerment. She has led on new relationships with communities for County Councils, City Councils and a London Metropolitan Borough Council.

Anu is Vice Chair of the Whittington Health Integrated Care Trust in north London. She was Director of Patient & Public Participation and Insight for NHS England. She took the lead for the NHS in ensuring that the voice of patients, service users, carers and the public is at the heart of the way NHS works. She was also responsible for Equalities and Health Inequalities, Person Centred Care, and the national relationship with the Voluntary and Community Sector.

In January 2020, Anu was appointed non-executive director to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO), which is responsible for investigating complaints about poor or unfair services as a result of actions by a government department, body or the NHS.

Appointed: 1 May 2019
Term ends: 30 April 2022