News story

Terms of Three Board Members of UK Anti-Doping Extended

The terms of appointment of Professor John Brewer, Justin Turner QC and Janice Shardlow have been extended for six months


Professor John Brewer

John is Head of the School of Sport, Health and Applied Science at St Mary’s University, Twickenham, and former Chair of British Ski and Snowboard.

He began his career as Head of Sports Science for the Football Association and spent 18 years as joint Director of the Lilleshall Sports Injury and Human Performance Centre at Lilleshall National Sports Centre in Shropshire, delivering sports science support to a range of National Governing Bodies. He then moved to GlaxoSmithKline as Director of Sports Science and was Chair of the London Regional Sports Board.

John Brewer’s term will end on 22 June 2017.

Justin Turner QC

Justin is a barrister in private practice who specialises in cases relating to the life sciences. He has a background in veterinary medicine and a PhD in immunology.

Justin Turner’s term will end on 21 May 2017.

Janice Shardlow

Janice is General Counsel at the British Equestrian Federation. She has worked in the legal sector for over 30 years in private practice, legal education and sport. She is a Sport Resolutions Arbitrator, Specialist Member, a Member of the Audit and Compliance Committee of the Fédération Equestre Internationale and a member of the Judicial Commission of the International Hockey Federation.

Janice Shardlow’s term will end on 21 May 2017.

UK Anti-Doping Board Member roles are remunerated at a rate of £215 per day. The extensions have been made in accordance with the OCPA Code of Practice. It is a requirement of the Code that political activity by those appointed is declared. Justin Turner has declared that he made a recordable donation to the Conservative Party during the 2015 General Election. Janice Shardlow and John Brewer have not declared any political activity.

Published 19 July 2016