Press release

Temporary appointment of Regional Flood & Coastal Committee Chair

Defra appoints temporary Chair of Northumbria RFCC


The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs has appointed Hugh Clear Hill as the temporary Chair of the Northumbria Regional Flood and Coastal Committee. His appointment took effect on 28 October 2016 and will run until 30 April 2017.

This temporary appointment is due to the death of the previous Chair, Dr Jon Hargreaves, on 15 October 2016.

Hugh Clear Hill has been a member of the Northumbria Regional Flood and Coastal Committee since January 2012, having previously been a member of the former Regional Fisheries, Ecology and Recreation Advisory Committee until its abolition in March 2011.

He is a former Sustainability Programme Manager for Northumberland County Council and is currently Chair of the Tyne Catchment Partnership for the Tyne Rivers Trust, for which he has been a Trustee since 2004.

Published 4 November 2016