News story

Regulatory Policy Committee members honoured in Queen’s Birthday Honours

Founding members of the Regulatory Policy Committee honoured for services to regulatory reform in Queen’s Birthday Honours


Chairman of the Regulatory Policy Committee, Michael Gibbons has been made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for his services for regulatory reform. Furthermore, former committee member and Chief Executive of the Chartered Institute of Internal Auditors, Dr Ian Peters, has been awarded an MBE for services to regulatory reform and in recognition of his work as a member of the Government’s Regulatory Policy Committee (RPC). Peters was a member from the committee’s inception in 2009, standing down earlier this year.

The RPC is an independent advisory non-departmental public body which provides scrutiny of the evidence and analysis supporting regulatory proposals and their impact on business and civil society. It does this to ensure decisions are made on the basis of a robust, evidence-based policy making process.

Michael Gibbons said:

Speaking personally, I feel very pleased to be honoured in this way for my work as chairman of the Regulatory Policy Committee (RPC) since the committee was set up in 2009. I regard it is as a privilege, which I appreciate greatly.

I am especially pleased that two of the founding members, myself and Ian Peters, have been honoured today. I am sure that these awards arise as a result of the recognition of the important role played by the independent RPC in UK regulatory reform, in particular in scrutinising the evidence base for new regulation.

Commenting on the award, Ian Peters said:

It has been a privilege to be part of a body which plays such an important role in providing a robust and impartial check on the purpose and effects of proposed government regulatory activity. I am delighted to receive this recognition of my contribution to regulatory reform, which is essential if we are to achieve sustainable economic growth.

Published 13 June 2015