Press release

Reappointments to Royal Mint Advisory Committee

The reappointments took effect from 1 March 2013

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


HM Treasury has announced the reappointments of two members of the Royal Mint Advisory Committee.

The reappointments of Tim Knox and Jana Khayat took effect from 01 March 2013 and in the case of Tim Knox will be for a term of five years and of Jana Khayat will be for one year.

Notes for Editors

  1. Tim Knox takes over as Director of the Fitzwilliam Museum on 2 April, having been Director of Sir John Soane’s Museum for several years. His appointment to the Committee for a further five years will bring his length of service to ten years, the total recommended for public bodies such as the Royal Mint Advisory Committee.

  2. Jana Khayat is a former Chairman of Fortnum & Mason and has brought an invaluable business insight to the work of the Committee. Her membership has been renewed for one year due to the pressure of other commitments.

  3. The Royal Mint Advisory Committee on the Design of Coins, Medals, Seals and Decorations was established in 1922 with the personal approval of King George V. Its purpose is to advise the Chancellor of the Exchequer on new designs for United Kingdom coins and to advise other government departments on new designs for official medals and seals. It is classed as an Advisory Non-Departmental Public Body (Lower Tier).

  4. The above reappointments were made in accordance with the Code of Practice published by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

  5. All reappointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for reappointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public. Both reappointees’ have confirmed that they have not engaged in any political activity in the last five years.

Published 4 March 2013