Press release

Public exhibitions for A2 weekend closures near Canterbury

Drivers, business owners and local residents are invited to find out more about a project to resurface sections of the A2 near Canterbury, Kent.

placeholder

Sections along a 6 mile section of the A2 between Brenley Corner (where the road meets the M2) and Wincheap (for the A28) will be rebuilt, which will involve nine weekend closures of the coastbound carriageway. Work is due to start on Friday 3 October and be completed, weather permitting, in the morning of Monday 1 December.

Ahead of work starting, a public exhibition will be held at Boughton Under Blean Village Hall between 4pm and 6pm on Tuesday 16 September, where members of the Highways Agency project team in charge of the work will be on hand to answer any questions that drivers and residents may have.

Highways Agency Assistant Asset Manager John Henderson said:

This is more than the usual overnight resurfacing; we will be rebuilding the carriageway base and this requires more time.

We have carefully planned the work and considered other options, such as using a contraflow, and the weekend closures had the least impact. I would advise local residents and anyone wishing to use the A2 to attend the exhibition to find out more about the work and how it may affect them.

The coastbound carriageway will be closed from 8pm on Friday until 6am on Monday morning over the following weekends:

  • Friday 3 to Monday 6 October
  • Friday 10 to Monday 13 October
  • Friday 17 to Monday 20 October
  • Friday 24 to Monday 27 October
  • Friday 31 October to Monday 3 November
  • Friday 7 to Monday 10 November
  • Friday 14 to Monday 17 November
  • Friday 21 to Monday 24 November
  • Friday 28 November to Monday 1 December

A fully signed diversion will be in place via the A299 and A256 during the closures.

Routine maintenance will also be carried out during the closures, including replacing white lines and markings, sign cleaning and vegetation clearance.

General enquiries

Members of the public should contact the Highways Agency Information Line on 0300 123 5000.

Media enquiries

Journalists should contact the Highways Agency press office on 0844 693 1448 and use the menu to speak to the most appropriate press officer.

Published 10 September 2014