Press release

Privy Council appointments: Arlene Foster, Ruth Davidson, David Gauke and Ed Vaizey

The Queen has approved 4 new appointments to the Privy Council.


The Queen has been pleased to give her approval to the recommendation to appoint Arlene Foster MLA, Ruth Davidson MSP, David Gauke MP and Ed Vaizey MP as Members of Her Majesty’s Most Honourable Privy Council.

Notes for editors

Arlene Foster MLA is the First Minister of Northern Ireland and the Leader of the Democratic Unionist Party.

Ruth Davidson MSP is the Leader of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party and the Member of the Scottish Parliament for Edinburgh Central.

David Gauke MP is the Financial Secretary to the Treasury and the Member of Parliament for South West Hertfordshire.

Ed Vaizey MP is the Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy and the Member of Parliament for Wantage.

Published 13 July 2016