News story

Prime Minister reappoints 4 Trustees to the Science Museum Group

Dame Athene Donald, Andreas Goss, Lord Grade and Ludmilla Jordanova reappointed as Trustees for further 4 years until 31 July 2019.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Professor Dame Athene Donald DBE FRS Professor Dame Athene Donald is one of the UK’s leading scientists, widely recognised for her outstanding contributions to research and to public engagement. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1999, and sits on its Council and several of its committees. Professor Donald is also a Fellow of the Academia Europaea, and President-Elect of the British Science Association. She is Master of Churchill College, Cambridge University.

Lord Grade of Yarmouth CBE Michael Grade has had a distinguished career in broadcasting, encompassing London Weekend Television, the BBC, ITV, and as Chief Executive of Channel Four Television. He was Chairman of the BBC 2004 - 2006, then Executive Chairman of ITV until the end of 2009. He is non-executive Chairman of Pinewood and Shepperton Film Studios, a non-executive Director of Manchester-based creative communications company, WRG, and a lay member of the Press Complaints Commission. In January 2011 he became the Tory Peer, Lord Grade of Yarmouth.

Mr Andreas Goss Andreas J. Goss is Chief Executive of ThyssenKrupp Steel Europe AG, one of the largest steel producers of Europe, headquartered in Duisburg, Germany. Before this, Andreas led, as Chief Executive since 2008, Siemens in the UK - Siemens’s largest regional company - and the regional Cluster North West Europe, which extended across 11 countries.

Professor Ludmilla Jordanova FRHS FRSM Professor Jordanova is a pre-eminent historian of science and medicine. She has been President of the British Society for the History of Science (1998-2000) and of the History of Science Section of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (2006). She was Director of the University of Cambridge Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities (2003-05) and is now based at the University of Durham. Professor Jordanova has curated exhibitions and served eight years as a Trustee of the National Portrait Gallery.

Published 25 March 2015