News story

Oil and Gas Authority Announces 2016 MER UK Awards Finalists

The finalists for this year’s MER UK Awards have been named.

This news article was withdrawn on

The Oil & Gas Authority launched a new website on 3 October 2016 to reflect its new status as a government company.

This formalises the transfer of the Secretary of State’s regulatory powers in respect of oil and gas to the OGA, and grants it new powers. This website will no longer be updated. Visitors should refer to

MER UK awards

The winners will be announced at Oil & Gas UK’s 10th anniversary annual awards ceremony at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre on Thursday 3 November. This award is presented to companies/individuals whose co-operative approach and positive behaviours have helped maximise the economic recovery of oil and gas from the UKCS.

Chief Executive of the OGA, Andy Samuel, said: “I was very impressed with the high quality of the nominations received. This made judging them very difficult, but it’s really pleasing to see so many companies working collaboratively and creatively to the principles of MER UK. There are some great success stories from all of the entrants – not just the finalists – which should be widely shared throughout industry. I look forward to announcing the winners on the 3rd of November.”

The finalists are:

  • ConocoPhillips (U.K) Limited and Partners – South Wye Project
  • Apache North Sea – Redevelopment of the Forties Field
  • CATS Management Limited – The Central Area Transmission System (CATS)
  • BP and Partners (Shell, Esso, JX Nippon, Zennor) - ETAP Area

All the nominations will be featured on our website shortly.

Published 26 September 2016