News story

New Insolvency Service board members named

Three non-executive directors have been appointed to the Board of Insolvency Service.


Richard Oirschot, Mary Chapman and William Trower QC have joined the Board which is responsible for the strategic leadership of the agency.

Insolvency Service chairman Steve Allinson said:

I am very pleased to welcome Richard, Mary and William to our Board. They each bring particular skills that will be very valuable to us as we work with our excellent senior executive team of the Insolvency Service to develop the strategy for the agency over the coming years. They join the Board at a time when our work continues to be very important for the economic well being of the country .

  • Richard Oirschot is an experienced board director with a background in corporate recovery. He is a member of the Institute for Turnaround and is a licenced insolvency practitioner.
  • Mary Chapman has held many private, non-profit and public sector governance positions including as chief executive of the Chartered Management Institute, director of the Royal Mint and is currently a Trustee of the Archbishops’ Council of the Church of England.
  • William Trower QC has a financial and commercial practice which includes insolvency and corporate restructuring. He sits as a Deputy High Court Judge (Chancery Division) and was a member of the Insolvency Rules Committee between 2000 and 2011.

Board members are appointed initially for three year terms. The newly appointed directors replace Dame Elizabeth Neville, Tracey Bleakley and David Ereira who have now completed their service on the Board.

Published 10 August 2017