Press release

New Chair of the Royal Mint

The Treasury has today announced the appointment of Peter Warry as Non-Executive Chair of the Royal Mint Limited.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Treasury has today announced the appointment of Peter Warry as Non-Executive Chair of the Royal Mint Limited.

The Royal Mint is one of the world’s leading mints and supplies the UK’s coinage and official coinage to many overseas countries, as well as commemorative coins and medals to mark important national events. It recently produced the widely acclaimed victory medals for the Olympics and Paralympics.

He will succeed Mike Davies, who was Chair of the Royal Mint from March 2007 to December 2012, and will join the company in December 2012 for a term of three years.

Announcing the appointment, Economic Secretary to the Treasury, Sajid Javid said:

I welcome Peter Warry to the Royal Mint at an important time for the company as it seeks to maintain its superb reputation in its core business, while also developing opportunities for new revenue.

I would also like to thank Mike Davies for five years of leadership at the Royal Mint, helping it develop into a world class business, delivering value for the taxpayer.

Notes for Editors

  1. The Royal Mint Limited is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Royal Mint Trading Fund. HM Treasury is the owner of the Royal Mint Trading Fund, with the Chancellor of the Exchequer holding the title of Master of the Mint.

  2. The Chair of the Royal Mint Board is a Ministerial appointment, responsibility for which is delegated to the Economic Secretary to the Treasury.

  3. Peter Warry held a number of positions in the private sector before serving as a Special Adviser in No 10 Downing Street for two years between 1984 and 1986. He then continued his executive career in the telecoms division of Plessey plc, before moving to become a Director in Norcros plc. Peter was then a Director of British Energy and CEO of the English business, Nuclear Electric. He has previously held a number of non-executive positions, including Chair of Kier Group, Victrex, the Science and Technology Facilities Council and BSS Group, and is currently Chair of Keepmoat Group, Mutual Energy Ltd and Morrison Utility Services.

  4. Media queries should be addressed to the Treasury Press Office on 020 720 5238. More information about the Royal Mint can be found on the Royal Mint website or by contacting the Royal Mint Press Office on 0207 853 2390

Published 14 November 2012