News story

New British Hallmarking Council members elected

David Willetts, Minister for Universities and Science, has made 4 new appointments to the British Hallmarking Council.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ code of practice for ministerial appointments to public bodies. The 4 appointees are:

  • Andrew Hinds (Executive Director, retail jeweller F Hinds Ltd),
  • Helen O’Neill (Managing Director, the PMC Studio Ltd),
  • David Sanders (ex-senior trading standards officer, various authorities) and
  • David Thurston (ex-senior trading standards officer and ex-Local Better Regulation Office).

David Willetts has also re-appointed the following members:

  • Adrian Levett (ex-Head of trading standards, Warwickshire County Council)
  • John Pearce (founder of Johnny Rockett Ltd, jewellery designers/manufacturers)
  • Robert Grice (ex-Head of trading standards, South Yorkshire)
  • Derek Lassetter (ex-Director of Argex Ltd)
  • Bryn Aldridge (Director of trading standards, City of London Corporation)
  • Eric Melrose (ex-Director of Planning and Environmental Services, Aberdeenshire Council)

Appointments are made for an initial 3-year term, renewable for a maximum 2 further terms subject to satisfactory performance. The posts are part-time and unpaid although BHC reimburses expenses.

The British Hallmarking Council is a non-departmental public body responsible for, among other things, ensuring the existence of adequate facilities for hallmarking in the UK and advising the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills on hallmarking issues, including the operation of the Hallmarking Act 1973. The act governs hallmarking in the UK. Hallmarks are distinguishing marks struck on articles, such as jewellery, made of platinum, gold, silver and palladium to indicate that they meet minimum standards of fineness.

Published 26 November 2012