News story

New appointment to Royal Mint Advisory Committee

HM Treasury has announced the appointment of a new member to the Royal Mint Advisory Committee.


Following an open and competitive process, Mrs Blondel Cluff has taken up the appointment for an initial term of five years with the option of a further five-year term. The vacancy arose on the retirement from the committee of Mrs Jana Khayat earlier in the year.

Mrs Cluff, a solicitor by training, has worked as a designer and is the current Chief Executive of the West India Committee NGO. She is also Chair of the London Committee of the Heritage Lottery Fund.

About the Royal Mint Advisory Committee

The Royal Mint Advisory Committee on the Design of Coins, Medals, Seals and Decorations was established in 1922 with the personal approval of King George V. Its purpose is to advise the Chancellor of the Exchequer on new designs for United Kingdom coins and to advise other government departments on new designs for official medals and seals. It is classed as an Advisory Non-Departmental Public Body (lower tier).

The above appointment was made in accordance with the code of practice published by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

Published 21 July 2014