Press release

Leading Cambridge professor receives honorary OBE

Minister for Universities and Science, David Willetts today (20 May 2014) bestowed an honorary OBE on Professor David Ford.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Minister for Universities and Science, David Willetts today bestowed an honorary OBE (Officer of the Order of the British Empire) on Professor David Ford, Regius Professor of Divinity at the University of Cambridge.

Professor Ford, an Irish citizen, received the honour for his significant contribution to theological scholarship and to inter-faith relations.

An internationally recognised academic figure, he has written and edited numerous books, including “The Modern Theologians” and “Theology: A Very Short Introduction” which are considered leading textbooks in the field.

Professor Ford is one of the founders of Scriptural Reasoning - the practice of Christians, Muslims and Jews reading their scriptures together. He also founded the Cambridge Inter-Faith Programme which is dedicated to learning about, learning from, and learning between religions as they interact within a secular and religious world.

At the University of Cambridge he has helped to raise over £25 million for various projects - including £8 million for a new faculty building which was opened in 2000 by the Queen.

Speaking at the event, Mr Willetts said:

I’m delighted to present this award to Professor Ford who has made an outstanding contribution to theological scholarship and inter-faith relations.

His energy, entrepreneurship, theological and practical work for inter-faith understanding all stand out. His many achievements have had considerable contemporary resonance and are of great significance in the search for peace and global cohesion.

The ceremony was conducted today (Tuesday 20 May 2014) at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Note to editors:

  1. Non-British citizens are not entitled to receive their honour from the Queen at Buckingham Palace and are instead presented with their awards by the relevant minister.
Published 20 May 2014