Press release

Government Finance Profession Awards 2011

The Government Finance Profession (GFP) is delighted to announce the winners of the sixteen awards in fifteen categories.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Government Finance Profession (GFP) is delighted to announce the winners of the sixteen awards in fifteen categories for excellence in financial management presented on Thursday 3 November at a ceremony in Birmingham.

The award winners were: 

Category Winner Department
GFP MBA Scholarship Matt McDonnell Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Outstanding Contribution to the Profession Whole of Government Accounts Team HM Treasury
Personality of the Year Ian Haldenby Department for Education
Government’s Accounting Technician of the Year Lynn Williams Department for Work & Pensions
PQ of the Year Wendy Richmond HM Revenue & Customs
NQ of the Year Faisal Mir Department for Communities & Local Government
Project Team the Year National External Funding Governance Team The Environment Agency
Unsung Hero Dennis Duignan Department for Work & Pensions
Sustainability Award Finance and Commercial Teams Department for Work & Pensions
Mentor of the Year Captain Paul Carcone British Army
Boss of the Year Michael Richardson Department for Work & Pensions
Finance Team of the Year *(1) Midlands Regional Finance Team HM Courts and Tribunals Service
Finance Team of the Year *(2) Strategic Weapons Finance Team Ministry of Defence
Finance Director of the Year Paul Coombs Vehicle and Operator Services Agency
Innovation in Government The Finance, Planning & Control Team HM Revenue & Customs
Head of Profession’s Award for Lifetime Achievement Ken Beeton HM Treasury

*The Judging Panel decided to make two awards this year in the “Finance Team of the Year” category.

Notes for Editors

  1. This year, the GFP in association with BPP presented the first ever GFP MBA Scholarship.

  2. The award for Innovation in Government was collected by

  3. The award for Sustainability was collected by

  4. The Government Finance Profession represents the 10,000 strong community of qualified and trainee accountants in central government. The awards were presented at the GFP Qualifieds’ Training Event on 3 November, in conjunction with the Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT), Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA); Barclays, the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA); the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA), Deloitte, Ernst & Young; J.P. Morgan, the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW) and PQ Magazine.

Non-media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Correspondence and Enquiry Unit on 020 7270 4558 or by e-mail to

Media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Press Office on 020 7270 5238.

Published 11 November 2011