News story

Foreign Office Ministerial appointments

Details of the full Foreign Office Ministerial team

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The appointments of Rt Hon Lord Howell as Minister of State and Henry Bellingham MP as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State completes the Ministerial team at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

They join Foreign Secretary William Hague, Ministers of State David Lidington, and Jeremy Browne, and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Alistair Burt.

Lord Howell was Secretary of State for Energy from 1979 - 81 and Transport from 1981 - 83. He was MP for Guildford from 1966 - 97, before being created a Life Peer in 1997. In the House of Lords, he was Opposition Spokesperson for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs from 2000 - 2010.

Henry Bellingham has held a number of positions in Shadow Cabinet, including Shadow Minister for Constitutional Affairs/ Justice from 2006 - 10. He was first elected to Parliament in 1983, and was returned as MP for North West Norfolk on 6 May 2010.

Published 16 May 2010