News story

DSA opening hours: Christmas and New Year

This news article was withdrawn on 14 May 2014

These were the opening hours for Christmas 2013 and New Year 2014.

The Driving Standards Agency (DSA) will close at times over Christmas and New Year, but its online services will be available as normal.

DSA’s online services will be available throughout Christmas and the New Year. You’ll be able to:

Driving test centres and customer support centre

DSA will be operating a normal service up to and including Tuesday 24 December.

Date Driving test centres Customer support centre
Monday 23 December Most centres will be open Open
Tuesday 24 December Most centres will be open Open
Wednesday 25 December Closed Closed
Thursday 26 December Closed Closed
Friday 27 December Closed Theory test customer support only
Monday 30 December Most centres will be open Open
Tuesday 31 December Most centres will be open Open
Wednesday 1 January Closed Closed
Thursday 2 January Scotland: closed - England and Wales: most centres will be open Open

Last date to change or cancel a driving test

You must give at least 3 clear working days’ notice to change your test date or cancel it, or you’ll have to pay again.

Sundays and public holidays don’t count as working days.

The tables show the last dates you can change or cancel your test. The date will depend on where you take the test, and whether you’re doing it online or by phone.

England and Wales

Test date Last date to change or cancel online Last date to change or cancel by phone
Tuesday 24 December Thursday 19 December Thursday 19 December
Saturday 28 December Sunday 22 December Friday 20 December
Sunday 29 December Monday 23 December Monday 23 December
Monday 30 December Monday 23 December Monday 23 December
Tuesday 31 December Thursday 26 December Tuesday 24 December
Thursday 2 January Friday 27 December Tuesday 24 December
Friday 3 January Sunday 29 December Tuesday 24 December
Saturday 4 January Monday 30 December Monday 30 December
Sunday 5 January Wednesday 1 January Tuesday 31 December
Monday 6 January Wednesday 1 January Tuesday 31 December
Tuesday 7 January Thursday 2 January Thursday 2 January

Scotland

Test date Last date to change or cancel online Last date to change or cancel by phone
Tuesday 24 December Thursday 19 December Thursday 19 December
Saturday 28 December Sunday 22 December Friday 20 December
Sunday 29 December Monday 23 December Monday 23 December
Monday 30 December Monday 23 December Monday 23 December
Tuesday 31 December Thursday 26 December Tuesday 24 December
Friday 3 January Friday 27 December Tuesday 24 December
Saturday 4 January Sunday 29 December Tuesday 24 December
Sunday 5 January Monday 30 December Monday 30 December
Monday 6 January Monday 30 December Monday 30 December
Tuesday 7 January Thursday 2 January Thursday 2 January