News story

Culture Secretary Extends the Terms of Three Board Members of UK Anti-Doping

The terms of appointment of Professor John Brewer, Justin Turner QC and Janice Shardlow have been extended until 30 September 2017


Professor John Brewer

John is Head of the School of Sport, Health and Applied Science at St Mary’s University, Twickenham, and former Chair of British Ski and Snowboard. He began his career as Head of Sports Science for the Football Association and spent 18 years as joint Director of the Lilleshall Sports Injury and Human Performance Centre at Lilleshall National Sports Centre in Shropshire, delivering sports science support to a range of National Governing Bodies. He then moved to GlaxoSmithKline as Director of Sports Science and was Chair of the London Regional Sports Board.

Janice Shadlow

Janice has worked in the legal sector for over 30 years in private practice, legal education and sport, specialising in corporate and sport governance. She is currently General Counsel at the British Equestrian Federation, a Sport Resolutions Arbitrator, Specialist Member, a Member of the Audit and Compliance Committee of the Fédération Equestre Internationale and a member of the Judicial Commission of the International Hockey Federation.

Justin Turner QC

Justin is a barrister in private practice who specialises in intellectual property and other commercial disputes with a technical character. In addition to law he has studied Veterinary Medicine and has a PhD in immunology.

UK Anti-Doping Board Member roles are remunerated at a rate of £215 per day. The extensions have been made in accordance with Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments. Under the Code, any significant political activity undertaken by an appointee in the last five years must be declared. Justin Turner has declared that he made a recordable donation to the Conservative Party during the 2015 General Election. Janice Shadlow and Professor John Brewer have declared no political activity.

Published 21 April 2017