Press release

Communities Secretary congratulates New Year's Honours 2017 recipients

Congratulations to those who have been awarded a New Year’s Honour for their work in local government, charities and communities.

CBE award

Communities Secretary Sajid Javid offered his congratulations to people who have been awarded a New Year’s Honour for their work in local government, charities and communities.

Communities Secretary Sajid Javid said:

It’s fantastic to see some of those working in local government and charities across the country recognised in the New Year’s Honours list for their outstanding contribution to our communities.

It’s only right that these dedicated people and their tireless efforts are honoured in this way. I would like to thank them for all that they do.

This year’s New Year’s Honours list includes:


  • Paul Rowsell, Deputy Director, Democracy, Department for Communities and Local Government
  • Desmond Biddulph, President and Member of the Buddhist Society
  • Kim Bromley-Derry, Chief Executive, London Borough of Newham
  • David Hodge, Leader of Surrey County Council and Vice Chairman, Local Government Association
  • Roslyn Jones, Mayor, Doncaster Council
  • Ravindra Govinda, Leader, Wandsworth Borough Council
  • Jane Martin, Local Government Ombudsman and Chair, Commission for Local Administration in England


  • Tim Haigh, Trustee, Depaul International Development
  • Iman Abou Atta, Founder SCEME
  • Chaya Spitz, Chief Executive, the Interlink Foundation
  • Jasvir Singh, Founding Chair, City Sikhs
  • Neil Stock, Leader, Tendring District Council
  • Robert Sleigh, Leader, Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Keith Lorraine, Chief Executive, Isos Housing Group
  • Tom Miskell, Chair, Accent and Northern Housing Consortium
  • Ian Munro, Group Chief Executive, New Charter Group


  • Danny Stone, Secretary, All-Party Parliamentary Group against Anti-Semitism
  • Peter William Adams, for Service to the Community in Hampton- in- Arden, Solihull
  • Sonia Bassey-Williams, Integrated Early Support Senior Manager at Cheshire West and Chester Council
  • Parkash Singh Dhami, President, Telford Gurdwara
  • Sylvie Johnston, Chief Executive, Stonepillow
  • Peter David Reeve, Councillor, Huntingdonshire District Council
  • Evelyn Findlater, Chief Executive Officer, Founder and Project Manager, Good Food Matters
  • Keith Bott, Partner, Titanic Brewery and Chairma, SIBA


  • Jillian Margaret Baker, for voluntary service to the community in Harbury
  • Eric Carter, Parish Councillor, New Frankley in Birmingham Parish Council
  • Sophia Crawshaw, Founder, One Good Turn
  • Kathleen Hankey, for services to the community in Antrobus, Cheshire
  • Doug Haynes, Clerk, Beeston Parish Council
  • Davinder Kaur, Chief Executive Officer, SWEDA and Chair, Sandwell Consortium
  • Vijay Rattan, Chair, Naree Shakti
  • Joyce Rothschild, for services to charity and the community in Solihull
  • Gary Smith, Co-founder of Working Against Grooming
  • Tony Kingsnorth, President, The Federation of Enfield Residents’ & Allied Associations
  • Sewa Singh Nandhra, for services to the Community in Woolwich
  • Sheila Margaret Onions, for services to the community in Fillongley
  • Olive Cope, for services in the community in Enfield
  • Gordon Lambert Routledge, for services to the community in Longtown
  • Geoffrey Thorpe, for voluntary service to the community in Harbury
  • Brian Gascoyne, for services to Community Cohesion in Peterborough
  • Induju Popat, Hindu Priest, Ashton Under Lyme Hindu Temple
Published 30 December 2016