News story

Chief Surveillance Commissioner - Sir Christopher Rose

Re-appointment of The Right Honourable Sir Christopher Rose as Chief Surveillance Commissioner.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Prime Minister has approved the re-appointment of The Right Honourable Sir Christopher Rose as Chief Surveillance Commissioner for a further term of three years to 30 June 2015.

Notes for Editors

Sir Christopher Rose was appointed a Surveillance Commissioner on 1 May 2006 and subsequently Chief Surveillance Commissioner on 1 July 2006.

Section 91 of the Police Act 1997 provides for the Prime Minster to appoint Surveillance Commissioners. Commissioners must be a person who holds or has held high judicial office (within the meaning of Part 3 of the CRA 2005) or is or has been a member of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. Their functions are in regard to surveillance operations carried out by Law Enforcement Agencies and other public authorities in England and Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Published 12 July 2012