News story

Best of British Business receive Queen’s Awards for Enterprise

A total of 156 Queen’s Awards have been announced this year. Overall, 102 companies have won awards for international trade, 44 for innovation…

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


A total of 156 Queen’s Awards have been announced this year. Overall, 102 companies have won awards for international trade, 44 for innovation and 10 for sustainable development. The standard of applications has been extremely high this year with 20% of companies applying receiving awards, double last year’s amount. In addition, 11 individuals have received The Queen’s Award for Enterprise Promotion (QAEP) for their inspiring efforts to encourage UK entrepreneurship.

Winning firms cover a vast range of business sectors. These include: architecture and design, building and construction, motoring and transport, electronics and technology, manufacturing and engineering, law and finance, tourism and leisure, medical and pharmaceuticals, food and drink, oil and gas, media and marketing, metals, plastics and packaging, safety and surveillance, printing, recycling, logistics, utilities and more.

They range from enterprising small businesses with as few as two employees to household names such as Yeo Valley Farms (Production) Ltd, BBC Research and Development and The National Archive. There is one multiple Award winner this year, in the International Trade and Innovation categories: RealVNC Limited, for its remote access software for computers and mobile devices.

Winners of The Queen’s Awards can expect a company visit by a Royal representative during the year to present a crystal bowl and an invitation to attend a special reception at Buckingham Palace in July. They can also use The Queen’s Award Emblem in advertising, marketing and on packaging for a period of five years as a symbol of their quality and success.

In a recent survey of the Queen’s Awards winners:

  • 77% of winners reported the win had brought added commercial value to their business;
  • 73% of winners saw employee engagement rise;
  • 73% of winners gained extra press coverage;
  • 85% of winners said the impact of winning a Queen’s Award met or exceeded their expectations; and
  • 57% of International Trade winners achieved increased recognition overseas.

The awards are made annually by HM The Queen, and are only given for the highest levels of excellence demonstrated in each category. They are judged to a demanding level and winners receive a number of benefits and worldwide recognition. To find out more about next year’s awards visit** ****

Notes to editors

  1. The full list of_ _winners can be found on the Queen’s Awards website ( ) from 21 April 2011.

  2. Business Link is government’s online resource for businesses. It contains essential information, support and services for you and your business - whether you work for a large organisation or are on your way to starting up.

  3. People in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland can find details of the Queen’s Awards on their local business support websites:

a. Wales:
b. Scotland:
c. Northern Ireland:

  1. A full press book of winners, including 130 word descriptions on all 156 business award winners and 11 recipients of The QAEP is attached.

  2. Prior to 21 April 2011, media should only approach named press contacts of 2011 Award winners about their achievements, provided that there is no publication or publicity before 00.01 BST on Thursday 21 April 2011. These contacts are detailed in the full press book.

  3. The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise are the UK’s most prestigious Awards for business success. There are four categories of Queen’s Awards - three for business success (International Trade, Innovation and Sustainable Development) and one for individual achievement in encouraging UK entrepreneurship (The Queen’s Award for Enterprise Promotion). Companies apply for the Business Awards, but individuals must be nominated for The QAEP.

  4. The Queen’s Awards were originally established in 1966, when they were known as The Queen’s Awards to Industry. In 1976 they were replaced by two separate Awards - ‘The Queen’s Award for Export Achievement’ and ‘The Queen’s Award for Technological Achievement’. A third Award was added in 1993 - ‘The Queen’s Award for Environmental Achievement’. In 2000, the Awards were renamed The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise, and the three categories changed to International Trade, Innovation and Sustainable Development. The Queen’s Award for Enterprise Promotion was added in 2004.


Notes to Editors

Contact Information

Name Joanna Fletcher Job Title

Division Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Phone 020 7215 5951 Fax



Published 21 April 2011