Press release

Appointments to National Park Authorities and the Broads Authority

New appointments to England’s National Park Authorities and the Broads Authority have been made by Environment Secretary, Caroline Spelman.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The post-holders are the national voice on the National Park Authorities, which have strategic responsibility for conservation, recreation, planning, access and resources.

Eleven new members have been appointed for four-year terms:

  • Broads Authority: Louis Baugh and Professor Jacquelin Burgess
  • New Forest: Oliver Crosthwaite-Eyre and Marian Spain
  • North York Moors: Alison Fisher and Andrew Scott CBE
  • Peak District: Frances Beatty MBE and Robert Helliwell
  • South Downs: Diana Kershaw
  • Yorkshire Dales: Judith Donovan CBE and Jocelyn Manners-Armstrong.
    Twenty one existing members have also been re-appointed for terms ranging from one year to four years:

  • Broads Authority: Philip Durrant, Peter Frost, Dr Murray Gray, Dr Stephen Johnson and John Sharp
  • Dartmoor National Park:  Peter Harper and Trevor Smale
  • Exmoor National Park: Dr Stephen Head and Prof Dr John Wibberley
  • Lake District National Park: Christopher Billinge, Bryan Gray CBE DL and Prof Jeremy Rowan Robinson
  • New Forest National Park: Peter Frost, Edward Johnson OBE and Dr Victoria Myers
  • Northumberland National Park: Dr Elizabeth Stockdale             
  • North York Moors National Park: Jane Mitchell and Stephen Scoffin
  • Peak District National Park:  Geoffrey Nickolds
  • Yorkshire Dales National Park:  Christopher Armitage and Peter Charlesworth.

These appointments are made following the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments Code of Practice.  All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public.

Members are unpaid, although they can claim certain allowances and are eligible for travel and other expenses incurred in the course of their appointments.  Members are expected to commit a minimum time input of two to three days per month, the majority of which is within normal working hours.

Further information on the members listed can be found on the individual Authority websites via:  For information about National Park Authorities, including appointments, go to: .

Published 31 May 2012