News story

Appointment of six commissioners to the Judicial Appointments Commission

The Lord Chancellor has announced the Royal Appointment of Commissioners to the Judicial Appointments Commission.


Jane Furniss, Andrew Kennon and Professor Sir Simon Wessley have been appointed as lay Commissioners, Emir Feisal appointed as a non-legally qualified Commissioner and Judge Mathangi Asokan, Judge Fiona Monk as judicial Commissioners to the Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC) from 1 September 2017 to 31 August 2020.

JAC is an independent body that selects candidates for judicial office in courts and tribunals in England and Wales, and for some tribunals with UK-wide jurisdiction. Candidates are selected on merit, through fair and open competition.

JAC Commissioners are appointed by Her Majesty the Queen on the recommendation of the Lord Chancellor.

Appointments and re-appointments to JAC are regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. These appointments have been made in line with the Commissioner’s Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies.

Published 7 September 2017