Ministerial role

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Wales


The minister assists the Secretary of State for Wales in ensuring that the interests of Wales are recognised.

Responsibilities include:

  • Welfare
  • Welsh Language
  • Heritage, Culture and Sport
  • Tourism
  • Rural Affairs
  • Health
  • Transport
  • Telecommunications
  • Energy
  • Environment

Current role holder: Guto Bebb MP

Guto Bebb was appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Wales Office and a Government Whip (Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury) on 19 March 2016. He was elected MP for Aberconwy in May 2010.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP

    • 2014 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon Stephen Crabb

    • 2012 to 2014
  3. The Rt Hon David Jones MP

    • 2010 to 2012


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Ministers announce Ajax delivery milestone in Wales

    • News story
  2. Broadband Boost for Wales

    • Press release
  3. Independent review of S4C launched

    • Press release
  4. Guto Bebb: Eisteddfod at the very heart of Welsh language and culture

    • Press release
  5. £10 million National Lottery support to redevelop Wales’s oldest university college

    • Press release
  6. The challenges and opportunities for Welsh tourism post EU exit

    • Press release
  7. UK Government Minister calls for urgent progress to address rural Wales’ mobile ‘not spots’

    • Press release
  8. HMRC’s Welsh language customer services team to remain in Porthmadog

    • Press release
  9. Fuelling the momentum for a North Wales Growth Deal

    • Press release
  10. Welsh Secretary welcomes stars to a special event to celebrate Welsh culture

    • News story