Ministerial role

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for the School System)

Organisations: Department for Education


The minister’s responsibilities include:

  • academies and multi-academy trusts
  • free schools and university technical colleges
  • faith schools
  • independent schools
  • home education and supplementary schools
  • school governance and intervention in underperforming schools
  • school capital investment (including pupil place planning)
  • Education Investment Areas, Opportunity North East and Opportunity Areas (jointly with Minister of State (Minister for School Standards))
  • admissions and school transport
  • digital strategy and technology in education (EdTech)
  • safeguarding in schools and post-16 settings
  • counter extremism in schools and post-16 settings
  • departmental efficiency and commercial policy

Previous holders of this role

  1. Baroness Barran MBE

    2021 to 2022

  2. Baroness Berridge of The Vale of Catmose

    2020 to 2021