Ministerial role

Parliamentary Secretary


Current role holder: Simon Hart MP

Simon Hart MP was appointed Parliamentary Secretary at the Cabinet Office on 27 July 2019.

He is the Conservative Member of Parliament for Carmarthen West & South Pembrokeshire, and was first elected in May 2010. He replaces Dame Angela Watkinson DBE who previously served as the Conservative Party member on the Committee.

Since being elected to Parliament, Simon has been a member of the Political and Constitutional Reform Select Committee, the Welsh Affairs Select Committee and the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee. He is currently a member of the Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee. He has also been a member/Chair of several APPGs including Tourism in Wales, Learning outside the Classroom, Marine Energy & Tidal Lagoons, EU/US Trade, and others. He is also the Prime Minister’s Trade Envoy to Panama, Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic. Prior to being elected he was Chief Executive of the Countryside Alliance, and remains Chairman of the organisation.